Ahmed Busnaina, William Lincoln Smith Professor,
Distinguished University Professor and Director of the
Advanced Nanomanufacturing Cluster for Smart
Sensors and Materials, and the NSF Nanoscale Science
and Engineering Center for High-rate
Nanomanufacturing Northeastern University
467 Egan Center, 360 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA
02115



Tel (617) 373-2992

Email: a.busnaina@northeastern.edu

URL: www.northeastern.edu/cssm, www.nanomanufacturing.us

Ahmed A. Busnaina, Ph.D. is the William Lincoln Smith Chair Professor, Distinguished University Professor and founding Director of the National Science Foundation's Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing since 2004, the Advanced Nanomanufacturing Cluster for Smart Sensors and Materials since 2015 and the NSF Center for Microcontamination Control at Northeastern University, Boston, MA since 2002. He is also the founder and CTO of Nano OPS, Inc. since 2017. Prior to joining Northeastern University in 2000, he was a professor and a director of the Particulate Control Lab at Clarkson University from 1983-2000. Dr. Busnaina is internationally recognized for his work on nano and micro scale defects mitigation and removal in semiconductor fabrication. He specializes in directed assembly-based nano and microscale printing of inorganic and organic conductors, semiconductors, and dielectrics for making micro and nanoscale interconnects, transistors, sensors, LEDs, and other devices. He developed many techniques for directed assembly-based additive manufacturing of nanoscale electronics, sensors, advanced and heterogeneous electronic packaging, and other optical and bio applications. His research support exceeds \$60 million. He authored more than 600 papers in journals, proceedings, and conferences. He also has 25 granted and 45 pending patents. He organized and chaired over 175 conferences, workshops, sessions, and panels for many professional societies. He was awarded the 2020 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award and Medal for his contributions to the printing of nanoelectronics. He is a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, fellow American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Adhesion Society, and a Fulbright Senior Scholar. He was awarded the 2006 Nanotech Briefs National Nano50 Award, the Innovator category, the 2006 Outstanding Faculty, the 2006 SØren Buus Outstanding Research Award, the 2005 Aspiration Award, and the 2016 Outstanding Translational Research Award at Northeastern University. He is an editor of the journal of Microelectronic Engineering and an associate editor of the Journal of Nanoparticle Research. He also serves on many advisory boards, including Samsung Electronics, the Journal of Particulate Science and Technology, the Journal of Electronic Materials Letters, the Journal of nanomaterials, and the Journal of nanomanufacturing.