Carnegie Mellon University

Elective Coursework

Students pursuing the three-semester program are required to complete 12 units of elective coursework. Students pursuing the four-semester program are required to complete 48 units of elective coursework.  Elective courses outside of the chosen concentration area are encouraged. For a list of elective courses, see Area of Concentration. Electives not on the list should be approved by MITS program administration to ensure adherence to program goals.