Carnegie Mellon University

Dear Faculty,

Among the many strengths I have come to appreciate about the CMU community is the incredible devotion of our faculty, staff and students working together to create a rich and nurturing environment for learning, discovery and creative expressions. Although these activities are ongoing throughout the year, we pause each spring to celebrate our successes in teaching and learning at the Celebration of Education. 

I am happy to announce the inaugural CMU Teaching Innovation Award that will be part of this year's celebration, further recognizing and incentivizing the breadth of teaching excellence and innovation among CMU faculty. The purpose of this award is to highlight 2-3 specific teaching innovations within CMU classes and studio courses that enhance student learning and engagement. This award also aligns with the Simon Initiative by promoting broader dissemination and adoption of effective, innovative teaching strategies across campus.

This new award will be coordinated by the Eberly Center and added to the 2015-16 Academic Year Celebration of Education award cycle, so please encourage your faculty and students to nominate faculty delivering innovative teaching and learning in our community. More details will follow, including a call for nominations and updates to the Celebration of Education website.

And of course, please also consider nominating your deserving colleagues for our longstanding education awards:

  • The Robert E. Doherty Award for Sustained Contributions to Excellence in Education recognizes contributions to educational programs in the following ways: development and implementation of innovative educational programs; development of widely used curriculum materials, such as text books and educational software; and establishment of educational programs that bridge the university with the community.
  • The William H. and Frances S. Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching recognizes excellence in teaching in several dimensions: outstanding classroom teaching; creation of challenging and innovative courses; creation or use of new and innovative teaching methods and course materials; effective supervision of research or creative projects; and effective supervision of undergraduate honors students and graduate students.
  • The Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Advising and Mentoring recognizes a member of the university community who has achieved excellence in providing undergraduate academic advising.
  • The Barbara Lazarus Award for Graduate Student and Junior Faculty Mentoring recognizes exemplary contributions to fostering a welcoming and nurturing environment for graduate students and young faculty at the university.
  • The Mark Gelfand Service Award for Educational Outreach recognizes a member of the university community who has combined sustained, effective community service with academic coursework and a deliberate process of student reflection to enhance the learning experience, and teach social responsibility to students while improving some aspect of life in the community. Special consideration is given to individuals who focus on science, technology, engineering or mathematics.

Please visit the Celebration of Education website for more details on the awards and nomination instructions.


Farnam Jahanian