Carnegie Mellon University

Board of Trustees of the Corporation


Office of the Board of Trustees and Secretary of the Corporation

The Office of the Board of Trustees and Secretary of the Corporation provide strategic leadership and serve as primary liaison to the Board of Trustees, the administration and the university community that enables the board to perform its fiduciary duty at a high level, the administration to operate efficiently and effectively with respect to the governance of the university, and the university community to understand and engage with the governing board. The office also oversees the management and operations of the trustees and its committees, including the presidential advisory boards that conduct reviews of the university’s programs. The Secretary of the Corporation is the custodian of the meetings of the Board of Trustees, the Articles and the Bylaws, the corporate records and the seal of the Corporation. The board office also maintains and disseminates official records of all board actions, including board meeting agendas.

A photo of Cathy Light

Cathy Light

Secretary of the Corporation and Advisor to the President


A photo of Kate Lippert

Kate Lippert

Manager of Trustee Engagement

EMAIl kate lippert

A photo of Dan Getkin

Dan Getkin

Executive Assistant and Board Office Coordinator


Officers of the Corporation

James E. Rohr, Chair
Edward H. Frank, Vice Chair
Tod S. Johnson, Vice Chair
Farnam Jahanian, President
James H. Garrett, Jr., Provost and Chief Academic Officer
Angela Blanton, Vice President for Finance and Chief Financial Officer
Gina Casalegno, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Mary Jo Dively, Vice President and General Counsel

John Dolan, Treasurer
Charles A. Kennedy, Chief Investment Officer
Cathy Light
, Secretary of the Corporation and Advisor to the President
J. Michael McQuade, Vice President for Research
Scott Mory, Vice President for University Advancement and Interim Vice President for Marketing & Communications
Carrie Nelson, Assistant Treasurer
Daryl Weinert, Chief of Staff and Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Voting Trustees

Joel Adams, general partner, Adams Capital Management, Inc.
Lane M. Bess, principal and founder, Bess Ventures and Advisory
Ronald Bianchini, Jr., distinguished engineer, Microsoft Corporation
Keith Block
Frank Brunckhorst, Boar's Head Provisions Co., Inc.
Eric Cooper
David Coulter, special limited partner, Warburg Pincus LLC
Russell Crockett, senior advisor, RTC Energy LLC
Jeanne Cunicelli, executive vice president, UPMC Enterprises
Shrinivas V. Dempo, chairman and managing director, Dempo Group of Companies
Glen de Vries
, co-chief executive officer and co-founder, Medidata Solutions
Linda A. Dickerson, principal, 501(c)(3)2
Francisco D'Souza, co-founder, Cognizant Technology Solutions
Howard Ellin, partner, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher and Flom
Edward H. Frank, co-founder and chief executive officer, Brilliant Lime, Inc.
Yoshiaki Fujimori, chairman of the board, Oracle Japan Corporation
Eric Giler, chairman, Endeveo, Inc.
Edward Grefenstette, president and chief investment officer, The Dietrich Foundation
Ira J. Gumberg, chairman and chief executive officer, J.J. Gumberg Co.
Jeffrey Housenbold, managing director, SoftBank
Torrence M. Hunt, Jr., The Elmhurst Group and the Roy A. Hunt Foundation
Farnam Jahanian (ex officio), president, Carnegie Mellon University
Larry Jennings, Jr.
, senior managing director, ValStone Partners, LLC

Tod S. Johnson, executive chairman, The NPD Group, Inc
Theresa Kail-Smith (ex officio), president, Pittsburgh City Council
Raymond J. Lane, managing partner, GreatPoint Ventures
John Lehoczky (ex officio), chair, Faculty Senate
Bruce McWilliams
Anne M. Molloy, executive director, Posner Fine Arts Foundation
William Peduto (ex officio), mayor, City of Pittsburgh
David Porges, chairman, Equitrans Midstream Corporation
John Pranzatelli (ex officio), president, Andrew Carnegie Society
James E. Rohr, retired chairman and chief executive officer, The PNC Financial Services Group, Inc.
Jonathan Rothberg, founder and chairman, Butterfly Networks, LAM Therapeutics, Quantum-Si, Hyperfine Research, 4 Combinator, Tesseract, Homodeus Inc. and EpilepsyCo
Ajit Shetty, retired chairman of the board, Janssen Pharmaceutica
J. Lea Hillman Simonds, chair, Hillman Family Foundations
Manoj Singh, retired chief operating officer, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited
Luke Skurman, chief executive officer, Niche
Chris Stengel (ex officio), president, Carnegie Mellon Alumni Association
Lip-Bu Tan, chairman, Walden International
David Tepper, president and founder, Appaloosa Management LP
Thomas Tull, chairman and chief executive officer, Tulco
Tamara Tunie, actor, director and producer
Mary Ann Ulishney
Paula Kauffman Wagner, producer/owner, Chestnut Ridge Productions
Michael Zamagias, founder, chairman and chief executive officer, Zamagias Properties; chairman and chief executive officer, TeleTracking Technologies

Emeritus Trustees

John R. Bertucci, chairman, MKS Instruments, Inc.
Carol R. Brown, former president, Pittsburgh Cultural Trust
Robert M. Brown, III, retired managing director, Lehman Brothers
Erroll B. Davis, Jr., senior advisor, Talentquest, Inc. 
W. Logan Dickerson, president, Lindwood Farm, Inc. & Protos Foods, Inc.
Philip L. Dowd, Sherick Enterprises, LLC
Dina Dublon
William B. Ellis, retired chairman and chief executive officer, Northeast Utilities
Cynthia Friedman, co-owner, Union Real Estate Company of Pittsburgh
Henry J. Gailliot
Claire W. Gargalli
Richard D. Hamilton, retired director of product supply, Procter and Gamble
Teresa Heinz, chairman, Heinz Family Foundation; chair emeritus, The Heinz Endowments
T. Jerome Holleran, retired chairman, Precision Medical Products, Inc.
W. Lee Hoskins, retired chairman and chief executive officer, The Huntington National Bank
Justin M. Johnson, retired judge, Superior Court of Pennsylvania
Patricia Askwith Kenner, president, Campus Coach Lines

David M. Kirr, partner, Kirr, Marbach & CompanyEdward E. Lucente
Edward Lucente
Thomas A. McConomy
, retired chairman of the board, Calgon Carbon Corporation
Jack E. McGrath
, retired senior vice president, Booz, Allen & Hamilton
Regina Gouger Miller, owner/artist, Ginger and Spice/Regina Gouger Miller Studio
Alessandro Ovi, executive vice president, Fondazione Popoli
E. Kears Pollock, retired executive vice president, PPG Industries, Inc.
Charles J. Queenan, Jr., chairman emeritus, K&L Gates LLP
John G. Rangos, John G. Rangos, Sr. Charitable Foundation
Vincent A. Sarni, retired chairman and chief executive officer, PPG Industries, Inc.
Joyce Bowie Scott, J. Bowie Scott Studio
David S. Shapira, executive chairman, Board of Directors, Giant Eagle, Inc.
Raymond Smith, chairman, Rothschild Continuation Investments
W. Lowell Steinbrenner, retired chairman, Contours, Ltd.
Donald E. Stitzenberg, principal, CBA Associates
James M. Walton, president emeritus, Carnegie Institute
Konrad M. Weis, former president and chief executive officer, Bayer Corporation

Please note that the above list is for informational purposes only. Mailings to members of the Board of Trustees will not be forwarded nor will members' personal contact information be disclosed.