People-Engineering Research Accelerator - Carnegie Mellon University

Bioengineering Technologies People

Marcel

Marcel Bruchezbruchez@cmu.edu | 412-268-9661 | 292 MI

Associate Research Professor - Chemistry

Bruchez develops and commercializes research tools for bionanotechnology - an emerging field that creates or adapts materials and chemical processes to solve biological problems.

Phil Campbell Photo

Phil Campbellpcampbel@cs.cmu.edu | 412-268-4126 | 1213 HBH

Research Professor - ICES

Bioavailability of growth factors, growth factor association and dissociation with various interstitial components, proteolytic processing, biomimetic tissue engineered materials, musculoskeletal tissue repair and regeneration.

Gary Fedder Photo

Gary Fedderfedder@cmu.edu | 412-268-8443/5352 | 2215 HBH

Associate Dean of Research - College of Engineering; Director - CIMM; Howard M. Wilkoff Professor - Electrical and Computer Engineering and Robotics

Professor Fedder's research interests include MEMS modeling, simulation and synthesis, integration of MEMS and CMOS, physical sensor design, microactuator control systems, RF MEMS, gas chemical microsensors and implantable biosensors.

Rongchao

Rongchao Jinrongchao@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-9448 | 816 MI

Assistant Professor - Chemistry

Jin is developing new methods to synthesize clusters of metal atoms 1-2 nanometers in size. Jin is also developing complex nanocrystal structures for devices used in electronics and other fields.

Takeo Kanade Photo

Takeo Kanadetk@cs.cmu.edu | 412-268-3016 | 4119 NSH

U.A. an d Helen Whitaker University Professor - Robotics Institute and Computer Science

Xin Li Photo

Xin Lixinli@cmu.edu | 412-268-6507 | 2139 HH

Research Scientist - Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Li's research focuses on developing novel modeling, analysis and optimization algorithms to facilitate the bold move from deterministic circuit design to statistical and probabilistic design.


burak

Burak Ozdoganlarburakoz@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-9890 | 1201E HBH

Director, Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES)
Ver Planck Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering

Professor Ozdoganlar's research interest focuses on nano/micro/meso-scale manufacturing; nano and micro-scale mechanical characterization; and modeling, simulation and experimentation of MEMS/microsystems.

Jeyanandh Paramesh Photo

Jeyanandh Parameshparamesh@andrew.cmu.edu | | A314 HH

Assistant Professor - Electrical and Computer Engineering

Research interests include RF and mixed-signal circuit silicon integrated circuits for a variety of applications including wireless communication and medical implantables. He is also interested in the application of digital signal processing algorithms to assist and enhance the performance of the design of mixed-signal integrated circuits.

Todd

Todd Przybycientodd@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-3857 | 2100 DH

Professor - Chemical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering

Professor Przybycien's research interests include Cellular and Molecular Biotechnology: protein adsorption and aggregation phenomena in bioprocessing environments, protein structure characterization, PEGylated protein delivery, MEMS-based biosensors.

Yoed

Yoed Rabinrabin@cmu.edu | 412-268-2204 | 321 SH

Professor - Mechanical Engineering

Professor Rabin's research is in the area of thermal sciences, with emphasis on biomedical engineering. Research activity at the Biothermal Technology Laboratory, directed by Prof. Rabin, is focused on cryopreservation (preservation of tissues at very low temperatures), cryosurgery (destruction of undesired tissue by freezing), and hyperthermia (destruction of tissues at elevated temperatures).

Alan Rosenbloom Photo

Alan Rosenbloomalan2@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-6430 | 1207 HBH

Research Scientist - ICES

Microchip-based sensor systems, detection of PNA-DNA binding by dialectic resonance spectroscopy, microdialysis of proteins, and nanoporous silicon carbide. He currently researches the development of patient-physician interface using non-invasive, miniaturized, multifunctional sensors that report molecular events within the patient to the physician in order to improve the data gathering process.

Alan Waggoner Photo

Alan Waggonerwaggoner@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-3456 | 294B MI

Professor - Biological Sciences

Lynn Walker Photo

Lynn Walkerlwalker@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-3020 | A219 DH

Professor - Chemical Engineering

Lee Weiss Photo

Lee Weisslew@andrew.cmu.edu | 412-268-7657 | 3113 NSH

Research Professor - Robotics Institute

Lee Weiss is interested in the application of advanced manufacturing processes to create technology-based solutions to challenging problems in health care delivery. His current research interests include: tissue engineering; biological patterning of hormones using inkjet printing; biodegradable implantable electronics; computer vision-based cell tracking; and, digital fabrication.