CMU Alumni at Emmys

CMU Alumni Primetime at EmmysCMU Alumni Primetime at Emmys

Chikako Suzuki

Carnegie Mellon University alumna Chikako Suzuki (A'04) has mastered the craft of art direction.

One of 14 alumni nominated for 13 Primetime Emmy Awards, she won her first for art direction in the Showtime comedy "House of Lies." Creative Arts Emmys were announced Aug. 16. The 66th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards was on Aug. 25.

"It's very exciting that so many of us got nominations," Suzuki said. "I've worked with Mark Worthington who was nominated for 'American Horror Story' many times. I was his production assistant, coordinator and assistant art director. I haven't art directed for him, yet."

Suzuki, who has a master's degree in scenic design from CMU's School of Drama, won in the category of Outstanding Art Direction for Contemporary Art Program (half-hour or less) with Ray Yamagata and Tim Stepeck.

Also nominated for Outstanding Art Direction were CMU alumni John Shaffner (A'76) and Ann Shea (A'80) for their work in "The Big Bang Theory."

"Being in the same category with John Shaffner is such an honor. John is a legend here in Hollywood," Suzuki said.

While at CMU, Suzuki studied with faculty members such as Anne Mundell, Cindy Limauro, Susan Tsu, Barbara Anderson, Paul Tazewell and Michael Olich (A'75).

Mundell was Suzuki's adviser.

"Chikako was an excellent student at CMU. She faced every challenge with tremendous ferver, generosity and dedication. Our community continues to be greatly enriched by her contributions," Mundell said. "Chikako's growth since graduation has been exponential. We are very proud of her and thrilled that her talent and hard work have been recognized with such a prestigious award."

Olich, who now teaches at Lewis & Clark College, said that art direction requires highly collaborative efforts.

"Chikako was always a respectful collaborator, so I am not surprised by her clear achievement in this field," he said. "This work ethic is highly valued in Carnegie Mellon's School of Drama as all of its alumni demonstrate."

Suzuki said that she enjoys wearing the many hats involved in art direction, which can include supervising construction, ordering signage, management, interdepartmental communication and more.

"Making the production designer's vision a reality can be very challenging sometimes, but it feels great when we deliver the final product," she said.

In addition to working on "House of Lies," Suzuki is working on the third season of HBO's "The Newsroom."

This year's nominees:

Steve Arnold (A'89)
Outstanding Art Direction for A Contemporary or Fantasy Series (Single-Camera)
"House of Cards"
Nominated jointly with Halina Gebarowicz and Tiffany Zappulla

Phil Baker (A'84)
Outstanding Children's Program
"Good Luck Charlie"
Nominated jointly with Dan Staley, Drew Vaupen, Christopher Vane, Erika Kaestle, Patrick McCarthy, Jim Gerkin and Pixie Wespiser

Matt Bomer (A'00)
Outstanding Supporting Actor in A Miniseries or A Movie
"The Normal Heart"

Eduardo Castro (A'76, '77)
Outstanding Costume for A Series
"Once Upon A Time"
Monique McRae, Assistant Costume Designer

Jeffrey Klarik (A'69)
Outstanding Writing for A Comedy Series
Nominated jointly with David Crane

Eugene Lee (A'62)
Outstanding Art Direction for Variety, Nonfiction, Reality or Reality-Competition Programming
"Saturday Night Live"
Nominated jointly with Akira Yoshimura, Keith Ian Raywood, N. Joseph DeTullio

Michael McMillian (A'02)
Outstanding Interactive Program
"Game of Thrones Premiere - Facebook Live and Instagram
Nominated jointly with Sabrina Calouri, Paul Beddoe-Stephens, Jim Marsh and Michael McMorrow

Noah Mitz (A'05)
Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Director for A Variety Special
"67th Annual Tony Awards"
Nominated jointly with Robert Dickinson, Harry Sangmeister and Ed McCarthy

Daniel Orlandi, Costume Designer (A'76)
Outstanding Costumes for A Miniseries, Movie or A Special
"The Normal Heart"
Nominated jointly with Gail A. Fitzgibbons, Hartsell Taylor, Maria Tortu

Kevin Rupnik (A'78)
Outstanding Art Direction for a Period Series, Miniseries or a Movie (Single-Camera)
"Masters of Sex"
Nominated jointly with Andrew Jackness and Ellen Christiansen

John Shaffner (A'76) and Ann Shea (A'80)
Outstanding Art Direction for A Contemporary Program (Half-Hour Or Less)
"The Big Bang Theory"
Nominated jointly with Francoise Cherry-Cohen

Chikako Suzuki (A'04)
Outstanding Art Direction for A Contemporary Program (Half-Hour Or Less)
"House of Lies"
Nominated Jointly with Ray Yamagata and Tim Stepeck

Mark Worthington (A'91)
Outstanding Art Direction for A Period Series, Miniseries or A Movie (Single-Camera)
"American Horror Story: Coven"
Nominated jointly with Andrew Murdock and Ellen Brill

"The Normal Heart," which Bomer appeared in as a supporting actor, won for Outstanding Television Movie.

"Shameless," the popular Showtime series produced by alumnus John Wells (A'79, HDR'14) through John Wells Productions and Warner Bros. Television, also was nominated in several categories.

Related Links: Performing Arts Awards | College of Fine Arts | School of Drama Centennial

Homepage Story Archives