Center Stage

Center Stage

From Carnegie Mellon University's educational partnership and first prime-time TV commercial to presenters and nominees, CMU has a leading role in the star-studded spectacular that is the 68th Annual Tony Awards®, presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League.

The Tartan presence at Broadway's biggest night is unmistakable.

In April, the university became the first, exclusive higher education partner of the Tony Awards.

During the telecast, the partnership and the "Tony Honor for Excellence in Theatre Education presented by Carnegie Mellon University" will be introduced by CMU alumni Zachary Quinto (A'99) of "Star Trek" and Broadway's "The Glass Menagerie" and Matt Bomer (A'00) of HBO's "The Normal Heart" and USA Network's "White Collar."

Carnegie Mellon also will premiere its first network, prime-time commercial. The animated spot, which highlights CMU's success in the arts, business, sciences and technology, will air twice during the Tony broadcast. Tony Award winner Billy Porter (A'91) recorded the voiceover.

Hosted by Tony Award winner, Academy Award®-nominated and Golden Globe®-winning actor Hugh Jackman, the 68th Annual Tony Awards will feature appearances by Porter, Patrick Wilson (A'95) and Judith Light (A'70).

Recognized for excellence in acting, producing, sound and lighting, the six Tony Award nominees reflect the breadth of drama education at CMU, and the range of impact alumni are having on the Broadway stage.

The 2014 Tony Award nominees are:

Peter Hylenski (A'97)
Best Sound Design of a Musical, "After Midnight"

Leigh Silverman (A'96)
Best Direction of a Musical, "Violet"

Cherry Jones (A'78)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play, "The Glass Menagerie"

Paula Wagner (producer)
Best Play, "Mothers and Sons"

Sutton Foster
Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical, "Violet"

Jamie DeRoy (producer) (A'67)
Best Musical, "A Gentleman's Guide To Love and Murder"

In addition, shows nominated for Best Musical include CMU alumni. Catherine Walker (A'01) is an ensemble cast member of "A Gentleman's Guide To Love and Murder," and Daisy Hobbs (A'10) is an ensemble cast member of "Aladdin."

"The Glass Menagerie" received seven nominations. CMU cast members, along with Jones, were Zachary Quinto (A'99) and Nicholas Rehberger (A'13).

"Act One" received five nominations. CMU cast members include Bob Ari (A'71, '95) and Will Brill (A'09).

Nominations for the Education Honor will be open to the public and accepted starting this fall at and For more visit the Tony Education Honor Facebook page.

Related Links: College of Fine Arts | School of Drama | Carnegie Mellon & the Tony Awards | | Past Winners

Homepage Story Archives