Emmy Awards

Emmy Nominees

Two Carnegie Mellon University alumni won Emmy Awards this year.

Alana Lorraine Billingsley (A'04) and Brian J. Stonestreet (A'88) both won Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming for their work on The 54th Annual Grammy Awards.

Among this year's talented nominees were five more alumni from CMU's School of Drama:

  • Edward Castro, III (A'76, A'77) — Outstanding Costumes For A Series, Once Upon A Time, Hat Trick
  • Eugene Lee (A'62) — Outstanding Art Direction For Variety Or Nonfiction Programming, Saturday Night Live
  • Edward L. Rubin (A'82) — Outstanding Art Direction for a Miniseries or Movie, American Horror Story, Open House (Part 7)
  • John S. Shaffner (A'76) — Outstanding Art Direction for a Multi-Camera Series, Mike & Molly, Goin' Fishin', Valentine's Piggyback, The Wedding
  • Mark Worthington (A'91) — Outstanding Art Direction for a Miniseries or Movie, American Horror Story, Open House (Part 7)

The Emmy Awards are an annual celebration of achievements and excellence in television programming. To date, CMU alumni have received 95 Emmy Awards and numerous nominations.

CMU's School of Drama alumni include innovators and leaders in the theater, television and film professions and related arts/entertainment industries who are actors, directors, dramatic writers, production designers, crafts persons, technicians, technical managers, producers and imaginative visionaries.

The school has produced countless eminent leaders in their field, including Steven Bochco, Ted Danson, Sutton Foster, Kent Gash, Holly Hunter, Cherry Jones, Judith Light, Rob Marshall, Zachary Quinto, Stephen Schwartz, Tamara Tunie, Paula Wagner, John Wells and Patrick Wilson.

Did we miss someone? Visit us on Facebook or Twitter and let us know.

Related Links: Emmys Website | School of Drama | Primetime Stars | 2012 Tony Winners | CMU's Performing Arts Awardees

Homepage Story Archives