Carnegie Mellon University

Deborah D. Stine

Deborah D. Stine

Professor of the Practice, Engineering and Public Policy

  • Scott Hall 5119
  • 412-268-4640
Department of Engineering and Public Policy
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213


  • Associate Director for Policy Outreach, Scott Institute for Energy Innovation, 2012- 
  • Professor of the Practice, Carnegie Mellon University, 2012-
  • Executive Director, President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, 2009-2012
  • Specialist, Science and Technology Policy, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress, 2007-2009
  • Associate Director, Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy (COSEPUP); Director, Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Fellowship Program; Director, Office of Special Projects; The National Academies – the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine, 1989-2007
  • Air Issues Manager, Chemical Manufacturers Association, 1988-1989
  • Air Pollution Engineer, Texas Air Control Board, 1983-1988
  • Mathematician, Brooks Air Base, U.S. Air Force, 1983
Dr. Deborah Stine is Professor of the Practice for the Engineering and Public Policy Department and the Associate Director for Policy Outreach for the Scott Institute for Energy Innovation at Carnegie Mellon University. For her outreach activities for EPP and the Scott Institute, she received the Science Communicator Award from the Carnegie Science Center in 2016. She was Executive Director of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology at the White House from 2009-2012. From 2007-2009, she was a science and technology policy specialist with the Congressional Research Service, where she wrote reports and advised members of Congress on science and technology policy issues. From 1989-2007, she was at the National Academies – the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine – where she was associate director of the Committee on Science, Engineering, and Public Policy; director of the National Academies Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Fellowship Program; and director of the Office of Special Projects. While at the National Academies, she was study director of the landmark National Academies report entitled Rising Above the Gathering Storm: Energizing and Employing America for a Brighter Economic Future, for which she received the Presidents Award– the highest staff award offered at the National Academies. Prior to coming to the Academies, she was a mathematician for the Air Force, an air-pollution engineer for the state of Texas, and an air-issues manager for the Chemical Manufacturers Association. She holds a BS in mechanical and environmental engineering from the University of California, Irvine, an MBA from what is now Texas A&M at Corpus Christi, and a PhD in public administration with a focus on science and technology policy analysis from American University.


  • Ph.D. (Public Administration/Policy Analysis), American University, 1992
  • MBA (Business Administration), Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi, 1988
  • B.S. (Mechanical and Environmental Engineering), University of California, Irvine, 1982


Science and technology advice for policy makers, policy analysis, program evaluation, energy and environmental policy, innovation policy, research and development policy, New Technology Commercialization: Non-market Public Policy Strategies.


Scott Institute Activities

Opinion Pieces for The Hill, a bi-partisan Washington DC political news source

New Technology Commercialization Public Policy Strategies Student Project Reports


Rubin, Edward S.; Cooper, Richard N.; Frosch, Robert A.; Lee, Thomas H.; Marland, Gregg; Rosenfeld, Arthur H.; Stine, Deborah D., "Realistic Mitigation Options for Global Warming", Science, July 10, 1994.

Stine, D. "Summary of Major Organizations’  Reports and Recommendations on National Science, Technology and Innovation Policies and Investments", 2006-2008; Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress

Selected Honors and Awards

  • Carnegie Science Center Science Communicator Award, 2016
  • National Academies President’s Award, 2007
  • Mitchell International Prize for Sustainable Development, Young Scholar’s Award for research on international environmental issues, 1991
  • University of California, Irvine Pardoen Award for outstanding contributions as a mechanical engineering students to students, engineering school, and community, 1982