Fruehan Selected for Briggs Award-Department of Materials Science and Engineering - Carnegie Mellon University

Fruehan Selected for Briggs Award

Professor Richard J. Fruehan has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 Charles W. Briggs Award for Best Paper for his paper entitled "Decarburization and Slag Formation Model for Electric Arc Furnace" (with Raimundo A. F. O. Fortes, Hiroyuki Matsuura). This award is presented to the author of a paper selected by the AIST Steelmaking Technology Division, and judged by the Electric Steelmaking Technology Committee to be the best technical paper submitted. As the recipient of this award, the paper will automatically be considered for the AIST Hunt-Kelly Outstanding Paper Award next year.