Carnegie Mellon University

ETIM and Integrated Study in Computer Science Program Detail

The MS in ETIM and Intergrated Study in CS is a four-semester masters program where you will complete a minimum of 144 units - a minimum of 60 units from SCS courses. 

While you are required to successfully complete 96 units to earn your masters degree, there is not a prescribed set of core courses you are required to complete. As a student in this program, you will work with your ETIM academic advisor to develop a ETIM course schedule that will be tailored to your academic and career goals.

You will be required to carry 36 units per semester with no more than 1 SCS course in your first and second semesters. In your third semester, you may take no more than two SCS courses and complete your program in semester four with a minimum of one SCS course. You will need to maintain a 3.0 GPA to receive your degree.

Summer semesters are not considered part of the required semester and you cannot transfer into this program once you have already enrolled in one of ETIM's MS programs. 

If you have additional questions about this intergrated MS program, please contact us.

Required CS Courses

Two required SCS courses, 1 taken each of the first 2 semesters:

  • 15-513, Introduction to Computer Systems (12 units)
  • 17-514, Principles of Software Construction: Objects, Design, and Concurrency (12 units)
  • The remaining SCS courses, taken during semester three and four will be electives

How to Apply
Apply online using the standard ETIM graduate admissions requirements. Your applications will be reviewed by representatives from both ETIM and the School of Computer Science.

Only applicants who specifically select the “Masters of Science in Engineering & Technology Innovation Management (Pittsburgh) and Integrated Study in Computer Science” option within the online application will be considered. This option becomes available after selecting the ETIM program within the online application.