Carnegie Mellon University

Recent Achievements

Congratulations to our recent recipients of research grants, professional recognition, teaching awards and more.

Research Grants

German Canale, 2017 Ph.D. Graduate In Second Language Acquisition, received the Recently Earned Ph.D. Award from the National Scientific Research Council of Uruguay.  The award will enable him to conduct research at the Centre for Multimodal Research at the Institute of Education, University College of London.

Michael West received a 2018 ProSEEd grant to support his project, “CMU in Haiti and Haiti at CMU: Bridging Pittsburgh and Port-au-Prince.”

Frank Dolce and Xiaofei Tang received the 2018 A.W. Mellon Fellowship in Digital Humanities & Technology Enhanced Learning.

Mame-Fatou Niang received a 2017-18 Falk Fellowship in the Humanities to support her project, “Mosaica Nigra: Blackness in 21st-century France.”

Naoko Taguchi received the 2017 NFMLTA/MLJ Roundtable Conference Grant. The grant will be used to support her invited colloquium at AAAL 2018, titled as 'Globalization and L2 Pragmatics: Implications for Research and Teaching.’

Tianyu (Sophie) Qin received the 2017 Jiede Empirical Research Grant for Chinese Pedagogy/Chinese Applied Linguistics from the Chinese Language Teachers Association to support her project “Dynamic Assessment of L2 Chinese Implicature Comprehension.”

Professor Khaled Al Masaeed received a 2017-2018 Falk Grant to support his project "Code-Switching in Arabic as a Foreign/Second Language." He also received a 2017-2018 Berkman Faculty Development Grant to support his project "Code-Switching in Second Language Acquisition: Insights from Arabic."

Professor Gang Liu received a 2017 Falk Grant to support his project “Cultural Differences and Their Impact on CFL (Chinese as a Foreign Language) Communication and Learning.”

Professor Seth Wiener received a 2017 Falk Grant to support his project “Acoustic Cues in Speech Communication.”

Professors Sébastien Dubreil and Christopher Jones received a 2017 A.W. Mellon Technology-Enhanced Learning Seed Grant to support their work on “Enhancing Interaction in Intermediate Level French Online Courses.”

Professor Tatyana Gershkovich received a 2017 A.W. Mellon Digital Humanities Seed Grant to support her project “Beyond the Ant Brotherhood: A Synoptic View of Tolstoy’s Intellectual Life.”

Teaching Awards

Xiaofei Tang is the recipient of the 2019 Graduate Student Teaching Award.  Xiaofei is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Modern Languages’ Second Language Acquisition Program.  She has taught both elementary and advanced-level courses in Chinese Studies.

Frank Dolce won the LaunchPad Language Education Technology Competition for his app, Banter. The award is sponsored by the Language Flagship Technology Innovation Center and the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) and "features first-time entrepreneurs who have created a technology product intended to fill a need in world language education."

Susan G. Polansky, Department Head, Modern Languages and Teaching Professor of Hispanic Studies, received a 2018 Pennsylvania State Modern Language Association (PSMLA) Merit Award for her “unyielding support of world language education in the Pittsburgh Public Schools,” specifically for her “Outreach Tutoring Program that has served students of Chinese, ESL, French, German, Japanese, and Spanish for over 22 years.”  Each year, the Pennsylvania State Modern Language Association (PSMLA) recognizes individuals or organizations that have given exceptional service in the promotion of Foreign Language and cultural awareness.

Tianyu (Sophie) Qin is the recipient of the 2018 Graduate Student Teaching Award.  Sophie is a Ph.D. candidate in the Second Language Acquisition Program of the Department of Modern Languages.  She conducts research in pedagogy and assessment and second language pragmatics.  She has taught elementary, intermediate and advanced Chinese and Introduction to Chinese Language and Culture.

Undergraduate Highlights

Mikaela Wolf-Sorokin (DC 2017) received a prestigious Truman Scholarship, designed to support the next generation of public service leaders.

Alyssa Aburachis and Mikaela Wolf-Sorokin are co-recipients of the 2018 G. Richard Tucker Award for Scholarship and Leadership. The award was established in honor of Dr. G. Richard Tucker, Paul Mellon University Professor of Applied Linguistics Emeritus, who retired in 2015. It is presented annually to a student in recognition of scholarly excellence in modern languages, and for leadership and dedication to the university.

María Navarro-Gutiérrez received the María Purificación Aguilar Memorial Award in 2018. The award is presented each year in the spring to the student with the highest grade point average completing a major in Hispanic Studies.

Kayla Lee (DC 2017) received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship. She traveled to Ecuador to teach and volunteer after graduation.