Carnegie Mellon University

Carol Goldburg, Ph.D.

Carol B. Goldburg, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Undergraduate Economics Program

  • Tepper 2406
Address
5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Bio

Pronouns: she/her/hers

Office: Tepper 2406
To schedule a meeting: https://meetme.so/CMUEconomics

Carol helps shape the undergraduate experience for students in the Undergraduate Economics Program. Students interested in economics courses or the economics program are invited to set up meetings with her.

How long have you been at CMU and how did you get here?

I've been at CMU on and off my entire adult life. I have four degrees from CMU. I have had a wide variety of jobs at CMU as an undergraduate and graduate student including teaching French during CMU's intensive summer school program, working at Entropy (when it was student run and we were essentially paid in chocolate bars and other snacks), teaching economics for C-MAP summer school, etc...  The only job that I haven't had at CMU that I would have liked to have had is to have been the half-time Zamboni driver during a CMU ice hockey game.

What was your undergraduate major? How did you end up deciding on it?

I majored in mathematics because as an 18-year-old, I couldn't think of what to major in and I knew that I loved languages, calculus class, and writing proofs in my high school geometry class.  Honestly, I just chose a major based on what I was good at.  Frankly, I wish I had been more open to other topics. 

When was a time when you struggled or encountered a setback? How did you respond?

Gosh, I have had many struggles, setbacks, and failures.  Some were small and some were large.  What I have learned from all of them, and what helps me today, is to be forthright and to force myself to articulate the situation at hand.  If I can articulate what is going on, then the "mess" is less overwhelming because I can start to find a way out of it.

What activities/hobbies do you like to do outside of work and/or what do you like to do to de-stress or unwind after a busy day?

I typically unwind by hanging with family and friends.  Also, being outside is something that always is good for my mental health. 

What is a fun or surprising fact about yourself?

I’m bilingual and have had some surprising translation and interpretation jobs in Europe and in the U.S. because of this.