Carnegie Mellon University

Excellence in First-Year Writing Award 2017

The Carnegie Mellon University First Year Writing Program is pleased to announce the call for outstanding student pieces for the Excellence in First-Year Writing Awards. Submissions are due May 29, 2017.

Winners will be announced at the Adamson Awards in Spring 2018.


  • Authors must be undergraduate students enrolled in either a fall or spring section of 76-100 or 76-101 of the 2016-2017 academic year.
  • Original essays must have been written in response to the final assignments, either Contribution (76101) or Position (76100).
  • Only one entry per student is eligible for submission.

Submit by May 29, 2017 to Submittable.

Questions? Contact Arianna Garofalo.