Carnegie Mellon University

The 2018 Dickson Prize Recipient

Emery N. BrownEmery N. Brown

Carnegie Mellon University is pleased to present Dr. Emery N. Brown with the 2018 Dickson Prize in Science. Dr. Brown is the Edward Hood Taplin Professor of Medical Engineering and Computational Neuroscience at MIT, the Warren M. Zapol Professor of Anaesthesia at Harvard Medical School and anesthesiologist at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Dr. Brown is one of the world’s leading physician-scientists. He directs an interdisciplinary team comprised of anesthesiologists, neuroscientists, bioengineers, mathematicians, neurologists and a neurosurgeon from MGH, MIT and Boston University that is studying the neuroscience of general anesthesia. Brown also directs the Neuroscience Statistics Research Laboratory at MGH and MIT where the research develops statistical methods and signal processing algorithms to analyze data collected in neuroscience experiments.

Brown served on President Obama’s NIH Brain Initiative Working Group. He is a fellow of the IEEE, the American Statistical Association, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors. Brown is one of 21 people who are currently members of the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering.

Brown has received an NIH Director’s Pioneer Award, the National Institute of Statistical Sciences Sacks Award and the American Society of Anesthesiologists Excellence in Research Award.