Carnegie Mellon University
Copyright Permissions

Copyright Permissions

The University Copy Centers provides administrative support by ordering copyright permissions for materials used in the classroom to help you and your department to comply with copyright law. Unless material expressly states that there is no fee for distribution or that the material is free to reuse, copyright permission must be obtained to reprint material distributed in a course.

The University Copy Centers partner with the Hunt Library and the Tepper School of Business to provide copyright permissions at a low cost to Carnegie Mellon University. 

Obtaining Copyright Permission

To ensure accurate processing of copyrights, please fill out the Copyright Request Form completely. Missing information will increase the time to complete requests. 

Please email the completed document to Jessica McDonald at and Elizabeth Paez at We will respond via email once the request is complete.


Below are the deadlines to submit copyright requests for each semester. We attempt to accommodate late requests, but they may not have copyright approval for the start of the mini-semester. 


Copyright Deadline

Start Date

Mini 4 Spring 2018

Monday, February 05, 2018

Monday, March 19, 2018

Mini 5 Summer 2018

Monday, April 23, 2018

Monday, May 21, 2018

Mini 6 Summer 2018

Monday, June 04, 2018

Monday, July 02, 2018

Mini 1 Fall 2018

Monday, July 16, 2018

Monday, August 27, 2018

Mini 2 Fall 2018

Monday, September 10, 2018

Monday, October 22, 2018

Mini 3 Spring 2019

Monday, December 03, 2018

Monday, January 14, 2019

Mini 4 Spring 2019

Monday, February 04, 2019

Monday, March 18, 2019

For more information on copyrights, please Contact Us.