Carnegie Mellon University

Commencement Weekend

May 18-19, 2019

Watch the Announcement Video


Past Speakers and Honorees


Keynote Speaker

  • David Tepper (TPR 1982), President & Founder, Appaloosa Management, L.P.
    (also received an honorary degree)

Honorary Degree Recipients

  • Ted Danson (A 1972), Actor, Ocean Advocate
  • Shafi Goldwasser (S 1979), Director, Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing, Professor of Computer Science University of California, Berkeley
  • Ada Yonath, The Martin S. and Helen Kimmel Professor of Structural Biology; Director, The Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly, Weizmann Institute of Science


Keynote Speaker

  • Meg Whitman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
    (also received an honorary degree)
Honorary Degree Recipients
  • Mahzarin R. Banaji, Richard Clarke Cabot Professor of Social Ethics, Department of Psychology, Harvard University
  • Vivian Davidson Hewitt (MM 1944), Retired Chief Librarian, Art Collector and Distinguished Awards Recipient
  • Michael Keaton, Actor
  • Bernard Osher, Founder and Treasurer, The Bernard Osher Foundation


Keynote Speaker

  • Earl Lewis, president, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
    (also received an honorary degree)

Honorary Degree Recipients

  • Holly Hunter (A 1980), actress/producer
  • Robert S. Langer, David H. Koch Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sonia Manzano (A 1972), actor/author
  • James R. Swartz (TPR 1966), founding partner, Accel Partners