Carnegie Mellon University

Commencement Weekend

May 18-19, 2019

Darlene Clark Hine

John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of History, Michigan State University 

Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters

dchine-400x400.jpgDarlene Clark Hine is a leading historian of the African American experience who helped found the field of black women’s history and has been one of its most prolific scholars.

Hine is a National Women’s History Month Honoree. On July 28, 2014, President Barack Obama honored her with a National Humanities Medal for her contributions in black women’s history and pioneering study of the intersection of race, class and gender. She is past president of the Organization of American Historians and of the Southern Historical Association. She was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in October 2006.  

In 1987, Hine became the John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of American History at Michigan State University where she established the Comparative Black History Ph.D. Program and mentored over 20 Ph.D. graduate students. She is the Board of Trustees Professor of African American Studies and History Emerita (Northwestern University). Her numerous publications include Black Victory: The Rise and Fall of the White Primary in Texas (1979, second edition, 2003); Black Women in White: Racial Conflict and Cooperation in the Nursing Profession, 1890–1950 (1989); Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia (1993); and Hine Sight: Black Women and the Re-Construction of American History (1994).

Hine has received fellowships and grants from the American Council of Learned Societies, the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, the Ford Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Humanities Center, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, the Rockefeller Foundation, and was a W.E.B. DuBois Institute Fellow at Harvard University. She has received honorary doctorates from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Purdue University; Buffalo State College, Buffalo, New York; Lake Forest College, Lake Forest, Illinois; Roosevelt University; and Michigan State University.