Carnegie Mellon University

Award Categories

Doherty Award for Sustained Excellence in Education

Carnegie Mellon established the Robert E. Doherty Award to recognize a member of the university community who has made substantial and sustained contributions to excellence in education. The Doherty Award is intended to recognize contributions to the development, implementation and evaluation of educational programs at all levels, and to the creation and maintenance of an environment that fosters excellence in education.

Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching

Carnegie Mellon's William H. and Frances S. Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching is given annually to a full-time faculty member at the university who has demonstrated unusual devotion and effectiveness in teaching undergraduate or graduate students.

Teaching Innovation Award

Introduced in 2016, the Teaching Innovation Award is Carnegie Mellon's newest faculty recognition. The award honors teaching practices or strategies designed to improve student learning in online, blended or face-to-face courses. Individual faculty members and/or teams of colleagues may be recognized.

Graduate Student Teaching Award

Carnegie Mellon's Graduate Student Teaching Award is given annually to a graduate student who has demonstrated teaching excellence at the undergraduate and/or graduate level at the university. The award is intended to foster a culture of teaching excellence among graduate teaching assistants and instructors.


Award for Outstanding Contributions to Academic Advising and Mentoring

The Academic Advising Award was established to recognize members of the Carnegie Mellon community who have achieved excellence in advising undergraduate students. The award is intended to honor outstanding contributions in helping students to define and achieve their academic goals.

Lazarus Award for Student and Faculty Mentoring

The Barbara Lazarus Award recognizes exemplary contributions to fostering a welcoming and nurturing environment for graduate students and young faculty at Carnegie Mellon.

Gelfand Service Award for Educational Outreach

The Mark Gelfand Award for Educational Outreach is given annually to a member of the university community who has combined sustained, effective community service with academic coursework and a deliberate process of student reflection to enhance the learning experience, teach social responsibility and improve some aspect of life in the community. Special consideration is given to individuals who focus on science, technology, engineering or mathematics educational outreach to younger populations.

Graduate Student Service Award

Carnegie Mellon’s Graduate Student Service Award is given annually to a graduate student who has advanced the interests of fellow graduate students, improved their quality of life on campus and/or contributed to the larger academic community.