Carnegie Mellon University

The Academic Advising Award

Carnegie Mellon's Academic Advising Award was established to recognize members of the Carnegie Mellon community who have achieved excellence in advising undergraduate students. The award is intended to honor outstanding contributions in helping students to define and achieve their academic goals.

2022 Award Recipient

Maggie Braun
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, Mellon College of Science and Teaching Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Maggie Braun began her career at Carnegie Mellon in 2008 as Assistant Department Head for Undergraduate Affairs in the Department of Biological Sciences, where she was responsible for advising all majors, curriculum development, and program administration. In 2016, she was appointed as Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs in the Mellon College of Science (MCS), where she now advises the first-year students, student-defined majors, and general studies majors in MCS and coordinates curriculum development at the college level. She works closely with all advisors in MCS to support the success of the entire undergraduate population in the college.

Dr. Braun’s approach to advising students is inclusive of students from all backgrounds as they grow as scholars, professionals, citizens, and people. She meets one-on-one with students to develop individualized short- and long-term goals — including academic and non-academic goals— for their time at Carnegie Mellon. Dr. Braun truly enjoys seeing students reach their full potential as students and in life. Her advising connections continue with many alumni as well, supporting them through career changes and post-secondary application processes.

Dr. Braun has mentored students through a variety of courses including the Phage Genomics Research course and the Summer Research Institute. She led the creation and teaching of the MCS first-year seminar course called EUREKA! Discovery and Its Impact, which holistically supports students as they transition to college. She co-created and co-taught the capstone course for the general studies major, which supports students as they define and describe their experiences at CMU as they prepare to leave campus.

Dr. Braun supports students outside of the classroom through her work co-advising the MCS Student Advisory Council and as a faculty mentor in Coaching and Mentoring Progress and Success in Science (COMPASS) minority mentoring program. She serves at the university level on committees focused on student case management and student separation from CMU, which support student success across campus.

Learn more about Professor Braun

Past Recipients


2020 Academic Advising Award Winner Ana Maria Ulloa-Shields

Ana Maria Ulloa-Shields
Associate Dean for Student Success, Academic Advisory Center, Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences


2019 Academic Advising Award Recipient Andrea Francioni Rooney

Andrea Francioni Rooney
Civil and Environmental Engineering


2018 Academic Advising Award Recipient Gary DiLisio

Gary DiLisio
Information Systems


2017 Academic Advising Award Recipient Emily Half

Emily Half
Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Information listed reflects the recipient at the time of the award.

Kunal Ghosh

Department of Physics

Bonnie Olson
Department of Mechanical Engineering

Marion L. Oliver

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Ty Walton
Carnegie Mellon Advising Resource Center

Karen H. Stump
Department of Chemistry

Therese Tardio
Department of Modern Languages

Melissa Cicozi
School of Design

Stephen Pajewski
Information Systems Program

Russell C. Walker
Department of Mathematical Sciences

Annette Moff Jacobson
Department of Chemical Engineering


Stephen Garoff
Department of Physics


James Roberts
Department of Computer Science


Sara A. Majetich
Department of Physics

Gloria Hill
Carnegie Mellon Action Program

Amy L. Burkert
Department of Biological Sciences

Claudia Kirkpatrick
Tepper School of Business

Ken Kotovosky
Department of Psychology

Jay Devine
Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Indira Nair
Department of Engineering and Public Policy

Eric Grotzinger
Department of Biological Sciences

Mark Stehlik
Department of Computer Science

Robert Kail
College of Engineering