Carnegie Mellon University

Chris Hendrickson Headshot

March 14, 2023

Hendrickson announced as 2023 recipient of the ASCE James Laurie Prize

The ASCE Transportation and Development Institute (T&DI) has announced Professor Chris Hendrickson, Ph.D., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE, of Carnegie Mellon University, as the recipient of the James Laurie Prize for 2023. This prestigious award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of transportation engineering.

Hendrickson has a distinguished career in transportation engineering, planning, and management that spans over four decades. Currently, he is the Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering Emeritus and Director of the Traffic 21 Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. His career at CMU began in 1978 as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Over the course of his career, he has made significant contributions to the field, including research, education, and practice in transportation engineering and planning, with a particular focus on design for the environment, transportation systems, construction project management, finance, and computer applications.

Hendrickson has been a dedicated volunteer for T&DI for over 30 years. He served on the T&DI Board from 2006 to 2010 and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Transportation Engineering: Part A, a position he has held since 2007. He has also received numerous awards and recognitions for his contributions to the field, including being named a Rhodes Scholar in 1973 and being elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2011.

In addition to his academic and research contributions, Hendrickson is the co-author of eight civil engineering books and holds one patent. He has also served on many advisory boards and is a Transportation Research Board Emeritus Member since 2004, an ASCE Distinguished Member since 2007, and has received numerous awards from ASCE, including the Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prize (1989), the Frank M. Masters Transportation Engineering Award (1994), and the Francis C. Turner Award (2002).

Hendrickson’s contributions to the field of transportation engineering and planning have been outstanding, and his dedication to T&DI and the profession is commendable. The James Laurie Prize is a well-deserved recognition of his significant contributions and achievements. Congratulations to Professor Hendrickson on this prestigious honor!