Carnegie Mellon University

Dave Dzombak

October 11, 2019

Dzombak Named ASCE Distinguished Member

Congratulations to Hammerschlag University Professor and Department Head Dave Dzombak who has been named an ASCE Distinguished Member for his outstanding education, leadership, and research contributions to water quality engineering, sustainable water resources, and energy-environment issues.

Dzombak has had a strong impact on education that expands from the classroom to the world at large. At Carnegie Mellon he spearheaded the program on the adaptation of infrastructure for climate change, which has served as a template for other schools of engineering. He also led the development of a PhD fellowship program in U.S. Environmental Sustainability.

He is among the world’s most prominent engineers in the area of water quality engineering, energy-environment matters, and water resources sustainability. Spanning a wide set of applications, his work has addressed topics in aquatic chemistry; fate and transport of chemicals in water, soil, and sediment; water and wastewater treatment; in situ and ex situ soil and sediment treatment; industrial waste management; abandoned mine drainage remediation; climate change adaptation for infrastructure; interbasin water transfer; and sustainability in mining.

In 2008, Dzombak was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for the development of models used in evaluating chemical behavior in water quality engineering and environmental remediation.

Recent honors include the Gordon Maskew Fair Award from the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES, 2019), the Civil Engineer of the Year Award from the ASCE Pittsburgh Section (2019), the Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP, 2015), and the ASCE Simon W. Freese Environmental Engineering Award (2014). Dzombak is a Fellow of AEESP, ASCE, and the Water Environment Federation (WEF).

Dzombak was honored this weekend at the 2019 ASCE Convention held in Miami, Florida.