Carnegie Mellon University
May 18, 2016

International Structural Group Meets at CMU

International Structural Group Meets at CMU

30 international researchers from three continents are meeting for the bi-annual International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP) Working Group 7.5 Conference on Reliability and Optimization of Structural Systems.

The meeting, organized under the leadership of CEE professors Matteo Pozzi and Jacobo Bielak, discusses and promotes modern structural system reliability and optimization theories and methods. Two years ago the group met at the American University of Armenia’s College of Science and Engineering.

“This group has a long tradition in developing innovative approaches for integration computation, data analysis and optimization for reliability assessment and design of infrastructure system,” explains Pozzi. “The conference is a small and intense gathering to discuss recent results and new trends in these fields”.

The IFIP is a global organization for researchers and professionals working in the field of Information and Communication Technologies and was established in 1960 under the support of UNESCO and is recognized by the United Nations, linking international societies and academies of science.

In 1972 the System Modeling and Optimization workgroup was formed to promote and stimulate research, disseminate and exchange information, and encourage education in this field.

The 2016 meeting, held on campus from May 18-20, 2016 is attended by:

Mona Abdolrazaghi - Enbridge Pipelines
Solomon Addisse
Ahmed Alqahtani
Charalampos Andriotis - Penn State
Alfredo Ang - UC Irvine
Edward Bednarz - Wilkes University
Daniela José Cruz - UNAM
Sherif Hassanien - Enbridge Pipelines
Terje Haukaas - University of British Columbia
Chul-Woo Kim - Kyoto University
Kincho Law - Stanford University
Binbin Li - UC Berkeley
Carl Malings - Carnegie Mellon
Milad Memarzadeh - UC Berkeley
Ryan Mulligan - Wilkes University
Hae Young Noh - CEE, CMU
Mahesh Pandey - University of Waterloo
Iason Papaioannou - Technische Universität München
Konstantinos Papakonstantinou - Penn State
Matteo Pozzi - CEE, CMU
Roland Schoebi - ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Farahnaz Soleimani - Georgia Institute of Technology
Junho Song - Seoul National University
Seymour Spence - University of Michigan
Daniel Straub - Engineering Risk Analysis Group, Technische Universität München
Cheng Su - South China University of Technology (SCUT)