Carnegie Mellon University

The Doctoral (PhD) Committee

Each PhD candidate in the department will be directed and advised by a Doctoral Committee. The Committee will be responsible for: 

  • Advising the student on appropriate course work
  • Assisting with thesis development 
  • Evaluating the final thesis product

The composition of the committee should be mutually agreed upon by the student and his/her advisor. It is important to note that the Comprehensive Examination committee members are not necessarily the same as members of the student’s Doctoral Committee.

One member of the Doctoral Committee serves as Chair and typically this individual will serve as the candidate’s principal thesis advisor. The Doctoral Committee must consist of at least four members, including:

  • A minimum of two full-time faculty from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, one of whom must be tenured faculty
  • A third faculty member from either the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering or another department at Carnegie Mellon University
  • A fourth member from another department at Carnegie Mellon University, another university, or a governmental or industrial research group as appropriate