Carnegie Mellon University

Professional Activities and Recognitions 

The department maintains a commitment to excellence in education, research, and professional service while advancing the engineering science fundamentals of the civil and environmental engineering disciplines. Below are some of the current professional activities and recent recognitions of our faculty.

Professional Activities

Journal Editorships

Burcu Akinci

Editorial Board Member - Journal of Automation in Construction

Associate Editor - Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering 

Mario Berges

Associate Editor - Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering

Jacobo Bielak

Editorial Advisory Board - Earthquake Engineering and Structural Dynamics

Chris Hendrickson     Editor-in-Chief - Journal of Transportation Engineering
Greg Lowry     Associate Editor -  RSC Journal Environmental Science: Nano
Editorial Board / Associate Editor - Nature: Scientific Data
Scott Matthews

Editorial Board Member - ASCE Journal of Infrastructure Systems

Subject Editor - Journal of Industrial Ecology 

Meagan Mauter

Advisory Board Member - Advanced Sustainable Systems

Editor - Sustainable Production and Consumption

Early Career Advisory Board - ACS Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering

Sean Qian

Editorial Board Member - Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies

Associate Editor - Transportmetrica B: Transport Dynamics

National Research Council

Jared Cohon
  • Board on Energy and Environmental Systems (Chair)

  • Committee on Undergraduate Enrollment in Computer Science (Co-Chair)
Dave Dzombak
  • Water Science and Technology Board
  • Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability (Co-Chair)
  • Roundtable on Unconventional Hydrocarbon Development (Co-Chair)

Chris Hendrickson

  • Evaluation of the Federal Railroad Administration Research and Development Program
  • Committee on Reinvesting in Inland Waterways: What Policymakers Need to Know (Chair)
Scott Matthews
  • Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology
  • Scientific Tools and Approaches for Sustainability 
Mitchell Small
  • Risk Management and Governance Issues in Shale Gas Development (Chair)

National Academy of Engineering Members

   Jacobo Bielak
   Jared Cohon
   David Dzombak
   Steven Fenves
   Chris Hendrickson  

International Academy Members

   Jacobo Bielak - Corresponding Member, Mexican Academy of Engineering 
   Jacobo Bielak - Corresponding Member, Mexican Academy of Sciences 

ASCE Distinguished Members

   Tung Au
   Jacobo Bielak
   Jared Cohon
   Steven Fenves
   Chris Hendrickson

University Professors 

   Jacobo Bielak
   Jared Cohon
   David Dzombak
   Chris Hendrickson 

Endowed Professorships  

Burcu Akinci Paul Christiano Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Jacobo Bielak - Hamerschlag University Professor
David DzombakHamerschlag University Professor
James H. Garrett, Jr. - Thomas Lord Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Chris Hendrickson - Hamerschlag University Professor
Greg Lowry- Walter J. Blenko, Sr. Professor of Environmental Engineering 
Mitch Small - H. John Heinz III Professor of Environmental Engineering
Jeanne VanBriesenDuquesne Light Professor of Engineering


Alumni Awards
Faculty Awards
Staff Awards
Student Awards

Many awards both internally and externally can be nominated by CEE alumni, faculty, staff and students. Listed are recent awards given to our department.