Carnegie Mellon University

2022 Spring Seminar Series 

All seminars are held in-person on Thursdays from 10:15-11:15 AM ET in the HOA 160 or on Zoom   

Thursday, January 20, 2022

caguilar.jpg

Carlos Aguilar, PhD
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Michigan

Seminar Title: Understanding & Rewriting the Molecular Music of Muscle Stem Cells in Aging

Thursday, January 27, 2022

bmelogohorizontal_69.jpg

Special Seminar
During this seminar, the students will watch the documentary “Picture a scientist”, followed by a discussion.
In this documentary, leading women scientists discuss the inequality they’ve faced as they set out to create a new formula to make STEM open to all.

Thursday, February 3, 2022

wgrayson.jpg

Warren L. Grayson, PhD
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Johns Hopkins University

Seminar Title: Exploring Neurovascular Interactions in Musculoskeletal Tissue Regeneration

Thursday, February 10, 2022

bmelogohorizontal_69.jpg

TBA

Thursday, February 17, 2022

aiyer.jpg

Anand Iyer, PhD
Chief Strategy Officer
Welldoc

Seminar Title: 

Thursday, February 24, 2022

bmelogohorizontal_69.jpg

Open House/No Seminar

Thursday, March 3, 2022

bmelogohorizontal_69.jpg

TBA

Thursday, March 10, 2022

bmelogohorizontal_69.jpg

Spring Break/No Seminar

Thursday, March 17, 2022

oveiseh.jpg

Omid Veiseh, PhD
Assistant Professor of Bioengineering
CPRIT Scholar in Cancer Research
Rice University

Seminar Title: Immune Modulatory Biomaterials for Cell-Based Therapeutics

Thursday, March 24, 2022 

gtraverso.jpg

Giovanni Traverso, MD, PhD
Associate Physician
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Assistant Professor
Harvard Medical School

Seminar Title: 

Thursday, March 31, 2022

dvrop.jpg

David Vorp, PhD
Associate Dean for Research & John A. Swanson Professor
Bioengineering Department
University of Pittsburgh

Seminar Title: 

Thursday, April 7, 2022

bmelogohorizontal_69.jpg

Spring Carnival/No Seminar

Thursday, April 14, 2022

ddurand.jpg

Dominique Durand, PhD
Elmer Lincoln Lindseth Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science,
Case School of Engineering
Department of Neurosciences
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
School of Medicine
Director
Neural Engineering Center
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Case Western Reserve University

Seminar Title: 

Thursday, April 21, 2022

sblemker.jpg

Silvia Salinas Blemker, PhD
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Virginia

Seminar Title:

Thursday, April 28, 2022

dkleinfeld.png

David Kleinfeld, PhD
Professor
Department of Physics
University of California San Diego

Seminar Title: