Carnegie Mellon University

Faculty Awards & Honors

Alison Barth
Named Interim Director of CMU’s BrainHub and received an NIH grant.

Maggie Braun
Promoted to MCS Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs.

Marcel Bruchez
Received two grants from the NIH in addition to patent approvals.

Becki Campanaro
Appointed as Assistant Department Head for Undergraduate Affairs.

Aryn Gittis
Awarded the Eberly Family Early Career Development Professorship, obtained grants from the NIH, the NSF, and the Curci Foundation.

N. Luisa Hiller
Funded from the Kaufman Foundation.

Sandra Kuhlman
Received awards from IARPA and the Curci Foundation.

Brooke McCartney
Received the MCS Richard Moore Education Award and a grant from the Kaufman Foundation (Luisa Hiller and Jon Minden are Co-PIs).

Joel McManus
Awarded the Eberly Family Early Career Development Professorship.

Jon Minden
Received an NSF award, a grant from the Kaufman Foundation, and funding from the CMU CIT-MCS Seed fund.

Aaron Mitchell
Received the 2015 American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award.

Manoj Puthenveedu
Received grants from the NSF and the NIH. He also received grant funding from the Curci Foundation, the Winters Foundation, CMU’s ProSEED BrainHub and has a patent pending.

Gordon Rule
Received a grant from the Qatar National Research Fund (QNRF) as well as a grant from the NIH.

Russell Schwartz
Received an award from the Commonwealth Universal Research Enhancement (CURE) Program.

John Woolford
Named Associate Editor of the journal RNA.

Alison Barth
Received a 2014 Talent Travel Award from Humboldt University, and
an NIH grant to explore “Neocortical representations of cold.”

DJ Brasier
Selected as a Wimmer Faculty Fellow at CMU’s Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence.

Marcel Bruchez
Awarded a Kaufman Foundation grant for understanding neural circuitry in the mammalian neocortex as well as an NIH grant for exploring brain-scale measurements of cell-speci c synaptic contacts, both in collaboration with Alison Barth.

Chuck Ettensohn
Appointed associate editor at BMC Genomics and received National Science Foundation (NSF) funding for “Analysis of a Gene Regulatory Network in Early Animal Development.”

Veronica Hinman
Joined the Editorial Board of EvoDevo, as well as the Scienti c Advisory Board of SpBase/EchinoBase.

Chien Ho
Received a Highmark Disruptive Health Technology Institute (DHTI) grant for “A Novel Approach to Improve the Delivery and Reduce
the Toxic Side Effects of Anticancer Nanodrugs by Intralipid.”

Sandra Kuhlman
Awarded a 5-year NIH grant for studying “Inhibitory regulation of visual processing and plasticity in visual cortex.” In addition, she received funding from the Flight ForSight Foundation and the Knights Templar Eye Foundation.

Tina Lee
Received a 5-year NIH grant to investigate the mechanism and role of membrane fusion by the atlastin GTPase.

Bob Murphy
Received a 5-year grant award from NIH for work on building generative models of cell organization in conjunction with Gustavo Rohde and Tina Lee.

Manoj Puthenveedu
Joined the Editorial Board of Traffic, a respected journal in cell biology that disseminates in uential publications on membrane trafficking research.

Shoba Subramanian
Selected as a Wimmer Faculty Fellow from the Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence.

Nathan Urban
Received a $930,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (in collaboration with Rob Kass) to apply biological and statistical neuroscience approaches in order to create a better overall understanding of how neurons encode information.

John Woolford
Co-directs The Center for Nucleic Acids Science and Technology (CNAST) with Bruce Armitage, which received a $3.1 million gift from the David Scaife Family Charitable Foundation. In addition, his long-standing NIH grant was renewed for years 32-35.

Alison Barth
Received a 2013 Memory and Cognitive Disorders Award from the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience
Appointed to the Society for Neuroscience Program Committee, 2013-2015

Dannie Durand
and collaborators awarded a Human Frontiers Science Program grant for international research

Aryn Gittis
Finalist for 2013 Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology

Veronica Hinman
Awarded a 2012 Eberly Career Development Chair
Invited to serve on the scientific advisory board for SpBase

Chien Ho
Named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Received a Gold Metal for his pioneering contribution of MRI-based cell tracking by the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine

Jonathan Minden
Received the 2012 Richard Moore Award
Published a book dedicated to the widely used difference gel electrophoresis (DIGE) technique, which was invented in the Minden lab

Aaron Mitchell
Invited to serve on the advisory board for the Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease Program
Became chair-elect and lecturer for the American Society for Microbiology Division F, the Medical Mycology Division

Robert Murphy
2013 JBS Authors' Choice Award from the Society for Laboratory Automation and Screening for his paper featured in the special July 2012 bioimage informatics issue of Nature Methods

Manojkumar Puthenveedu
Awarded a 2012 Eberly Career Development Chair

Gordon Rule
Appointed Associate Dean for Research of Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar (CMU-Q)

Nathan Urban
Appointed to advisory panel for NIH Common Fund Single Cell Analysis Program
Awarded the University of Pittsburgh 225th Anniversary Medallion

John Woolford
Became a member of the advisory board for the Charles E. Kaufman Foundation