2013 Joint Advisory Board-Carnegie Mellon University Africa - Carnegie Mellon University

2013 Joint Advisory Board

CMU-R's Joint Advisory Board Holds Inaugural Meeting

KIGALI 11th June 2013Marking our first year of operations, Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) and the Government of Rwanda (GoR) held the inaugural CMU-R Joint Advisory Board (JAB) meeting. The two-day meeting was attended by board members appointed by the GoR and CMU, as well as key stakeholders. The role of the JAB is to provide advice regarding the strategic goals of CMU-R.

The official meeting began on 11th June 2013, with the following board members in attendance:

  • Dr. James H. Garrett, Dean of the College of Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University (Chairman)
  • Dr. Timothy Mwololo Waema, Professor, School of Computing and Informatics, University of Nairobi
  • Dr. Beda Mutagwana Mutagahywa, Professor, University of Dar es Salaam
  • Dr. Mark Kamlet, Provost & Vice President, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Dr. Ed Schlesinger, Department Head of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Dr. Bruce Krogh, Director of Carnegie Mellon University in Rwanda (ex-officio)
  • Ms. Clare Akamanzi, Acting CEO of the Rwanda Development Board (ex-officio)
Following the board meeting, two new members were jointly appointed and confirmed:
Dr. Pradeep Khosla, Chancellor, University of California- San Diego
Dr. Ignace Gatare, Director General, National Science & Technology Commission of Rwanda

see photographs