Sustainability Committee-Staff Council - Carnegie Mellon University

icon sustainability cmte

Sustainability Committee

Co-Chair:  Barb Kviz
Co-Chair: Nicole Reading


Tamara Alkhattar
George Cann
Karen Hignett
Adam Loucks
Robert Nord
David Reinoehl
Ron Ripper
Pattye Stragar
Rachelle Thompson
Stefanie Vanhorn

The Sustainability Committee was formed in 2010 in order to develop a more comprehensive waste reduction and energy conservation program specifically for staff members working in coordination with CMU's Green Practices Committee.

The Sustainability Committee partners with other campus groups to make recommendations to Staff Council and its constituencies about new and easier ways to 'reduce, reuse, and recycle,' in order to set an example for all staff on campus.  A representative from the Sustainability Committee is typically designated as a liaison to participate on the Green Practices Committee.

Staff Council can lobby to change university policies as they affect staff and the entire campus community. Areas for possible campus 'green initiatives' include working to increase CMU's recycling rate from 26% to 40%, further minimizing waste on campus, increasing the number of departmental-level food composting programs, helping facilitate Zero Waste events with Catering / Dining, encouraging the transition from paper to electronic filing strategies, reducing electricity use, improving indoor air quality, decreasing Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs), and educating staff about alternative commuting and Green purchasing opportunities.

Updated Aug 21, 2015