Carnegie Mellon University Website Home Page

Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley to Join New Collaborative Education and Research Center at NASA Research Park

Carnegie Mellon University is one of four educational institutions that have joined forces to build a new collaborative education and research center in Mountain View, CA.

Campus rendering

An artist's rendering of the new

The University of California at Santa Cruz and Foothill-De Anza Community College started the project by forming a nonprofit organization named University Associates – Silicon Valley LLC and have signed a 99-year lease with NASA.

Santa Clara University and Carnegie Mellon University will soon join the organization, adding momentum to the joint project as a new venture for university collaborations. The center will include improved infrastructure, with sustainable initiatives such as wind and solar power. Green technology will be a focus of the educational center.

NASA Research Park is already home to satellite branches of each of the institutions, including Carnegie Mellon Silicon Valley, but the unique collaborative expansion will allow for broader recruitment and a career placement stake hold in the tech industry region. With access to not only academic and industry partners, but also NASA research collaborations, residential options, and sunny weather, students and faculty will be hard-pressed to find such amenities elsewhere in the Bay Area.

Cohon and students

Carnegie Mellon President
Jared Cohon with students
on campus

Construction is slated to begin in 2012, with occupancy following in 2014. Details on University Associates - Silicon Valley LLC can be found at

In conjunction with his visit, Carnegie Mellon University President Jared Cohon and Dean of the College of Engineering Pradeep Khosla held an ice cream social with students and alumni of the Silicon Valley campus.

[at top from left to right: NASA Ames Research Park Director Pete Worden, U.S. Representative Mike Honda, Chancellor of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District Martha Kanter, UC Santa Cruz Chancellor George Blumenthal, U.S. Representative Zoe Lofgren, Santa Clara University President Father Michael Engh, U.S. Representative Anna Eshoo, Carnegie Mellon University President Jared Cohon pose for a photo at the "A Defining Moment" celebration.]