2011-Dept of Physics - Carnegie Mellon University


Friday, December 9, 2011

Early Black Holes Grew Big Eating Cold, Fast Food

PITTSBURGH -- Researchers at Carnegie Mellon University’s Bruce and Astrid McWilliams Center for Cosmology have discovered what caused the rapid growth of early supermassive black holes – a steady diet of cold, fast food.

Monday, June 6, 2011

Degrees and awards presented at Commencement 2011

The 114th commencement at Carnegie Mellon University took place May 14-15, 2011. Aron Ralston (E'97), whose amazing and heroic story of survival is the subject of the film "127 Hours," delivered the keynote. MORE
Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Physics Graduate Student Receives Astrid and Bruce McWilliams Fellowship

Graduate student Colin DeGraf has been awarded Astrid and Bruce McWilliams Fellowship in the Mellon College of Science. MORE
Thursday, April 28, 2011

MIT Computer Scientist Scott Aaronson To Present 2011 Buhl Lecture

MIT Computer Scientist Scott Aaronson presents Carnegie Mellon's 2011 Buhl Lecture April 29. MORE
Monday, April 25, 2011

Carnegie Mellon Researchers Build Time Machine That Allows Visual Exploration of Space and Time

Researchers at Carnegie Mellon University's Robotics Institute have leveraged the latest browser technology to create GigaPan Time Machine. MORE
Monday, February 14, 2011

Physics Student Rebecca Krall Receives Churchill Scholarship

Carnegie Mellon University physics major Rebecca Krall has been selected as one of 14 students in the United States to receive a Churchill Scholarship. MORE
Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Third Annual Charles E. Kaufman Award Presented to Stephanie Tristram-Nagle

The Pittsburgh Foundation announced that Carnegie Mellon University research professor Stephanie Tristram-Nagle was awarded the third annual Charles E. Kaufman Award. MORE
Friday, February 4, 2011

Prof. Majetich Receives Carnegie Science Awards for Excellence

On February 3, the Carnegie Science Center announced that Sara Majetich, professor of physics, received the 2011 Award for Excellence in the Emerging Female Scientist category. MORE