Carnegie Mellon University

Academy Fellows


Bryant, Kadane and Wing Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Randal BryantThe School of Computer Science’s Randal E. Bryant and Jeannette M. Wing and the College of Humanities & Social Sciences’ Joseph B. Kadane are among 229 leaders in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, the arts, business and public affairs to be elected members this year of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. The three inductees this year mark the highest number of inductees in any one year for Carnegie Mellon.

Bryant, University Professor of Computer Science and SCS dean, and Wing, President's Professor of Computer Science and assistant director of the National Science Foundation; and Joseph B. Kadane, the Leonard J. Savage University Professor of Statistics and Social Sciences, Emeritus, will be inducted Oct. 9 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

The 2010 class also includes such luminaries as astronomer Geoffrey Marcy, director Francis Ford Coppola, actors Denzel Washington and John Lithgow, IBM Chairman Samuel Palmisiano, Microsoft chief software architect Ray Ozzie and Nobel laureate economist Myron Scholes. For the full list, see Wing

Jay Kadane"We are pleased to welcome these distinguished individuals into the Academy," said Leslie Berlowitz, chief executive officer and William T. Golden Chair. "We look forward to drawing on their knowledge and expertise to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing issues of the day."

The Academy was established in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock and other founders of the nation as center for independent policy research. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. With the addition Bryan, Kadane and Wing, Carnegie Mellon has had 15 inductees overall. To view the previous winners, visit the university's rankings and awards website.

Byron Spice