Policy Forum of the Center for International Relations and Politics-Master of Information Technology Strategy - Carnegie Mellon University

Policy Forum of the Center for International Relations and Politics

Fall 2014

Tuesday, September 30, 2014 Andrew Bausch, Coup-Proofing and Military Inefficiencies: An Experiment
Friday, October 10, 2014 Justice David Souter, The Heart of the Matter: The Humanities and Social Sciences for a Vibrant, Competitive, and Secure Nation
Thursday, December 4, 2014 Morris Fiorina, TBD


Spring 2014

Thursday, January 30, 2014 Jacob Shapiro, Explaining Local Intensity in Intrastate Conflict: Why Mechanisms Matter
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 Bruce Bueno de Mesquita, Bad Governance is Good Politics


Fall 2013

Friday, September 27, 2013 Karl W. Eikenberry, The Limits of American Intervention: Lessons from Afghanistan
Monday, October 14, 2013 Anna Getmansky, Democracy and Intrastate Conflicts
Tuesday, October 15, 2013 Steven Brams, Game Theory and the Humanities
Friday, October 25, 2013 Matthew Dallek, "Think War, Sleep War, and Eat War”: the Roosevelt Administration and the Politics and Policy of "Home Defense" in World War II
Thursday, November 7, 2013 Maren Leed, Defense Challenges of the Next Decade
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 Robert Art, Selective Engagement after Unipolarity


Spring 2013

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 Dr. Cristina Archetti, University of Salford, Terrorism and the Media: Explaining Radicalization and Political Violence in the Age of Interconnectedness
Monday, February 4, 2013 Ariel Levite, Nonresident Senior Associate at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace


Fall 2012

Thursday, September 27, 2012 The Honorable Tom Ridge, 4:30-5:45pm, Kresge Theatre
Friday, October 5, 2012 Stanley McChrystal, 1:00-2:00pm, McConomy Auditorium
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 Ira Shapiro, 4:30-5:45pm, Margaret Morrison 103
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 Kori Schake, 4:30-5:45pm, Wean 5421
Monday, October 29, 2012 Eliot Cohen, 4:30-5:45pm, Wean 5421
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 Morris Fiorina, 4:30-5:45pm, Margaret Morrison A14


Spring 2012

Tuesday, April 10, 2012 Mr. Phillip Scanlan, "Global Engagement in an Ever-Challenging World" 4:30-5:45pm, Steinberg Auditorium, Baker Hall A53
Wednesday, April 25, 2012 Admiral Dennis C. Blair, "Getting Cyber Security Policy Right" 12:15-1:20pm, Gates Hillman Center 4307