2012 NSF Graduate Fellowship Recipients-Mechanical Engineering - Carnegie Mellon University

Friday, April 13, 2012

2012 NSF Graduate Fellowship Recipients

Congratulations to Mechanical Engineering students Matthew Edwards, David Eisenberg and Sameer Shroff on being awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships.  Matthew will be working with Professor Metin Sitti on microrobotic systems. David is studying the solid mechanics associated with cryopreservation via vitrification—a technique which employs low temperatures and crystal suppressing solutions in order to preserve tissues for long term storage.  He is a Ph.D. student of Professor Yoed Rabin.  Sameer is a Ph.D. student conducting research with Associate Professor Maarten de Boer on a class of Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) with applications in optics, data storage, microrobotics, and microvalve flow control. 

The NSF Graduate Fellowship is very competitive and the department is proud of Sameer, Matthew, and David for their achievement.  Please join the department in wishing them the very best for a productive and rewarding graduate student experience.  We look forward to hearing of their future successes!