Alumni News-Department of English - Carnegie Mellon University

Alumni News

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Alum Ann Blakeslee Wins Award for Technical Communication Research

Ann BlakesleeAnn Blakeslee has received the Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research in Technical Communication from the Society for Technical Communication (STC). MORE
Saturday, November 19, 2011

Alum to Donate Portion of Book Proceeds to Charity

NealReillyIn light of the recent scandal at Penn State, alum LeAnn Neal Reilly will be donating a portion of the proceeds from her latest novel, Saint Sebastian's Head, to the Heath Evans Foundation, a charity that provides counseling and therapy to victims of childhood sexual abuse. MORE
Wednesday, October 5, 2011

MAPW Alum Adam Lazarus Holds Book Signing at Carnegie Mellon

Adam LazarusAlum Adam Lazarus was on campus Monday, October 3, to speak with students and to offer a signing of his new book, "Super Bowl Monday: The New York Giants, the Buffalo Bills, and Super Bowl XXV."

Monday, September 5, 2011

Alum Michael Scotto Makes Pittsburgh’s 40 Under 40 List

Michael ScottoAlum Michael Scotto was named to Pittsburgh's 40 Under 40 list, sponsored by Pittsburgh Magazine and PUMP (Pittsburgh Urban Magnet Project).

Thursday, August 11, 2011

MAPW Alum Adam Lazarus Publishes Book on Super Bowl XXV

Adam LazarusAdam Lazarus (MAPW'06) has published his first solo-authored book, "Super Bowl Monday: The New York Giants, the Buffalo Bills, and Super Bowl XXV."

Friday, June 24, 2011

Alum Sarah Smith Awarded Cleveland State University First Book Prize

Sarah SmithSarah Smith has won the 2011 Cleveland State University First Book Prize. Her full-length book of poems, I Live in a Hut, will be published in spring 2012. MORE
Friday, June 17, 2011

Alum Karen Rigby Wins Sawtooth Poetry Prize

Karen RigbyKaren Rigby has won the 2011 Sawtooth Poetry Prize for her manuscript Chinoiserie, which will be published by Ahsahta Press in January 2012.

Monday, June 6, 2011

Alum Maureen McGranaghan Publishes Poetry Book

Maureen McGranaghanAttached to Earth, a book of poems by Carnegie Mellon alum Maureen McGranaghan (BHA'99), will be published in July 2011.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Alum Jewell Parker Rhodes Nominated for Best Historical Author

bookcoverAlum Jewell Parker Rhodes has been nominated for the "Best Historical Author" award from the GoOn Girl! Book Club for her novel, Douglass' Women. The winner of the award will be announced at the club's 20th Anniversary Gala on May 21, 2011, in Washington, D.C. MORE
Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Alum John Ackerman Receives "Outstanding Book Award for Civic Scholarship"

bookcoverReflections: A Journal of Writing, Service-Learning, and Community Literacy has awarded the "Outstanding Book Award for Civic Scholarship" to Carnegie Mellon alum John Ackerman and David Coogan, editors of The Public Work of Rhetoric: Citizen-Scholars and Civic Engagement MORE
Monday, April 18, 2011

Alum Laurie MacDiarmid Wins Georgetown Review Poetry Contest

macdiarmidAlum Laurie (Schorr) MacDiarmid ('86) has been selected as the 2011 winner of the Georgetown Review Poetry Manuscript Contest for her upcoming book of poems Consolation Prize.
Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Alum Ann Blakeslee Honored by Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Congratulations to Ann M. Blakeslee for her elevation to the rank of Fellow by The Association of Teachers of Technical Writing (ATTW). Dr. Blakeslee graduated from CMU with a Ph.D. in Rhetoric in 1992 and is now a professor at Eastern Michigan University. MORE
Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Alum Lillian-Yvonne Bertram Wins Award for Poetry Collection

Lillian-Yvonne Bertram is the 2010 winner of the Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award for her manuscript But a Storm is Blowing from Paradise. Bertram graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in 2006 with degrees in Creative Writing and Hispanic Studies. MORE
Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Ludmila Hyman Accepts Position at CMU Qatar

Ludmila Hyman has accepted the position of Assistant Teaching Professor at CMU's Qatar campus, where she will begin teaching in spring 2012. MORE
Monday, January 17, 2011

English Department Alumnus Jim Stratman Presenting Workshop at Pitt Law

On January 27th at 12:00 pm, alumnus Jim Stratman, who was a member of the English Department's very first Ph.D. in Rhetoric class, will be running a workshop at the University of Pittsburgh's law school. MORE
Thursday, January 6, 2011

Rhetoric Alum Betsy Bowen Named Connecticut Professor of the Year

Betsy Bowen, who earned a Ph.D. in Rhetoric from CMU in 1988, was named the 2010 Carnegie Foundation for Advancement of Teaching Connecticut Professor of the Year. MORE
Thursday, January 6, 2011

CPID Alum Melissa Clarkson Receives Award from STC

Melissa Clarkson, CPID '08, received a Distinguished Award for work that she entered in a regional competition held by the Society for Technical Communication (STC).
Thursday, December 9, 2010

Oopali Operajita (MAPW ’95) Plays Key Role in India’s Concert for President Obama

Noted choreographer and classical dancer Oopali Operajita (MAPW '95) served as the artistic director and choreographer for the Concert for President Barack Obama, hosted by Indian President Pratibha Patil at India's presidential palace on November 8, 2010. MORE
Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Alumni News: Christopher Ward Publishes Article

Christopher Ward, who graduated from CMU in 2007 with an MA in Rhetoric, recently published an article in the book "Error: Glitch, Noise, and Jam in New Media Cultures," edited by Mark Nunes.
Thursday, July 15, 2010

PhD Student Emily Klein Wins Prestigious Teaching Award

PhD in Literary and Cultural Studies student Emily Klein won the 2010 H&SS Student Teaching Award.
Thursday, July 15, 2010

MAPW Alum Adam Lazarus Publishes Book

Adam Lazarus (MAPW '06), along with Carnegie Mellon History Professor Steven Schlossman, co-authored the recently published book "Chasing Greatness: Johnny Miller, Arnold Palmer, and the Miracle at Oakmont" (New American Library, 2010). MORE
Thursday, July 8, 2010

Veronica Olson Receives Steinberg Award

Veronica Olson (MAPW '10) is the 2010 recipient of the Erwin R. Steinberg MAPW Scholarship. Each year, this scholarship is awarded to the 3rd semester MAPW who excels in Style, a course that Steinberg taught for many years in the MAPW program. MORE
Friday, April 30, 2010

Operajita (MAPW'95) Works for Global Sustainability

Alumna Oopali Operajita is dedicating her talents to a good cause: global sustainability. In 2007, Operajita (MAPW '95) created the Al Gore Sustainable Technology Venture Competition, of which she is chair and founder, in honor of Nobel Laureate Al Gore. MORE
Tuesday, July 28, 2009

CW Alum Adam Atkinson and the Pittsburgh Literati

CMU Creative writing alumnus Adam Atkinson was featured in a story about the thriving literary scene in Pittsburgh, in Monday's Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. MORE
Thursday, June 11, 2009

Schriver and Hayes Win CPTSC Assessment Award

MAPW and  Rhetoric alumnus Karen Schriver has won this year's Council for Programs in Technical and Scientific Communication (CPTSC) Award for Excellence in Program Assessment with CMU Professor Dick Hayes (Psychology). MORE