Environmental Faculty List-Environment at CMU - Carnegie Mellon University

Environmental Faculty List

(last updated: March 2013)


First Name Last Name Title Affiliation Email
Peter Adams Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering; Engineering & Public Policy petera@andrew.cmu.edu
Jay Apt Director
Carnegie Mellon Electricity Industry Center japt@andrew.cmu.edu
Jay Apt Professor of Technology Tepper School of Business; Engineering & Public Policy japt@andrew.cmu.edu
Nadine Aubry Raymond J. Lane Distinguished Professor and Head Mechanical Engineering aubry@andrew.cmu.edu
Inês Lima Azevedo

Executive Director

Climate and Energy Decision Making

ilimade@andrew.cmu.edu
James Bain Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering jbain@ece.cmu.edu
James Bain Associate Director Data Storage Systems Center jbain@ece.cmu.edu
Inês Lima Azevedo Assistant Research Professor Engineering & Public Policy iazevedo@cmu.edu
Mario
Berges Assistant Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering marioberges@cmu.edu
Robert Bingham Associate Head and Professor College of Fine Arts: Art bbigwitz@andrew.cmu.edu
Lenore Blum Distinguished Career Professor
Computer Science lblum@cs.cmu.edu
Wändi Bruine de Bruin Assistant Professor
Social and Decision Sciences; Engineering & Public Policy
wandi@cmu.edu
Elizabeth Casman Associate Research Professor Engineering & Public Policy casman@andrew.cmu.edu
Melissa Cicozi Assistant Head
College of Fine Arts: Design cicozi@cmu.edu
Terry Collins Teresa Heinz Professor of Green Chemistry Chemistry tc1u@andrew.cmu.edu
Cleotilde Gonzalez Associate Research Scientist Social and Decision Sciences coty@cmu.edu
Cleotilde Gonzalez Director Dynamic Decision Making Laboratory (DDMLab) coty@cmu.edu
Mike Domach Professor Chemical Engineering; Biomedical Engineering
md0q@andrew.cmu.edu
Neil Donahue Professor Chemical Engineering; Chemistry; Engineering & Public Policy
nmd@andrew.cmu.edu
David Dzombak Walter J. Blenko, Sr. University Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering
dzombak@cmu.edu
David Dzombak Faculty Director Steinbrenner Institute for Environmental Education and Research dzombak@cmu.edu
Gary Fedder Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
fedder@ece.cmu.edu
Gary Fedder Director Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES), RI/ICES fedder@ece.cmu.edu
Paul Fischbeck Professor Social and Decision Sciences; Engineering & Public Policy pf12@andrew.cmu.edu
Baruch Fischhoff Howard Heinz University Professor Social and Decision Sciences; Engineering & Public Policy baruch@andrew.cmu.edu
Eden Fisher Executive Director Engineering & Technology Innovation Management Program
edenf@andrew.cmu.edu
Eden Fisher Professor of the Practice Engineering & Public Policy edenf@andrew.cmu.edu
John Folan T. David Fitz-Gibbon Professor College of Fine Arts: Architecture jfolan@andrew.cmu.edu
John Folan Director Urban Design Build Studio (UDBS) jfolan@andrew.cmu.edu
Erica Fuchs Assistant Professor Engineering & Public Policy erhf@andrew.cmu.edu
Stephen Garoff Professor Physics sg2e@andrew.cmu.edu
James Garrett, Jr.
Thomas Lord Professor and Head Civil & Environmental Engineering garrett@cmu.edu
Andrew Gellman Lord Professor and Head Chemical Engineering gellman@cmu.edu
Kelvin Gregory Assistant Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering kgregory@andrew.cmu.edu
Michael Griffin Executive Director Green Design Initiative mwg@andrew.cmu.edu
Michael Griffin Assistant Research Professor Engineering & Public Policy; Tepper School of Business mwg@andrew.cmu.edu
Ignacio Grossman Rudolph R. and Florence Dean University Professor Chemical Engineering grossman@cmu.edu
Volker Hartkopf Professor College of Fine Arts: Architecture hartkopf@cmu.edu
Volker Hartkopf Director Center for Building Performance & Diagnostics
hartkopf@cmu.edu
Robert Heard Associate Teaching Professor Materials Science & Engineering rheard@andrew.cmu.edu
Chris Hendrickson Duquesne Light Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering cth@andrew.cmu.edu
Colin Horwitz Adjunct Research Professor Chemistry horwitz@andrew.cmu.edu
Colin Horwitz Chief Technology Officer GreenOx Catalysts horwitz@andrew.cmu.edu
Gabriela Hug Assistant Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering ghug@ece.cmu.edu
Terry Irwin Head of the School of Design College of Fine Arts: Design tirwin@andrew.cmu.edu
Paulina Jaramillo Assistant Research Professor Engineering & Public Policy paulina@cmu.edu
Paulina Jaramillo Executive Director RenewElec Project paulina@cmu.edu
Athanasios Karamalidis Assistant Research Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering akaramal@andrew.cmu.edu
John Kitchin Associate Professor Chemical Engineering jkitchin@andrew.cmu.edu
Bruce Krogh Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering krogh@ece.cmu.edu
Khee Poh Lam Professor
College of Fine Arts: Architecture kplam@cmu.edu
David Landis Professor; Executive Director Energy Science, Technology and Policy, Materials Science & Engineering  DaveL@cmu.edu
Deborah Lange Executive Director Steinbrenner Institute; Western Pennsylvania Brownfields Center dlange@cmu.edu
Stephen Lee Professor and Head
College of Fine Arts: Architecture stevelee@cmu.edu
Shawn Litster Assistant Professor Mechanical Engineering litster@andrew.cmu.edu
Vivian Loftness Professor College of Fine Arts: Architecture loftness@cmu.edu
Greg Lowry Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering glowry@cmu.edu
Peter Madsen Distinguished Service Professor of Ethics and Social
Responsibility
Provost's Office; Heinz College; Dept of Philosophy pm2n@andrew.cmu.edu
Peter Madsen Executive Director Emeritus Center for the Advancement of Applied Ethics and Political Philosphy pm2n@andrew.cmu.edu
Jonathan Malen Assistant Professor Mechanical Engineering; Materials Science & Engineering jonmalen@andrew.cmu.edu
Jennifer Mankoff Associate Professor Human Computer Interaction Institute jmankoff@cs.cmu.edu
H. Scott Matthews Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering; Engineering & Public Policy hsm@cmu.edu
Deanna Matthews Assistant Teaching Professor; Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Affairs Engineering & Public Policy dh5x@andrew.cmu.edu
Krzysztof Matyjaszewski J.C. Warner University Professor of Natural Science Chemistry matyjaszewski@cmu.edu
Francis McMichael Walter J. Blenko, Sr. Professor of Environmental Engineering; Professor Emeritus Civil & Environmental Engineering; Engineering & Public Policy fm2a@andrew.cmu.edu
William Messner Professor Mechanical Engineering; Robotics bmessner@andrew.cmu.edu
Jeremy J.
Michalek Associate Professor Mechanical Engineering; Engineering & Public Policy
jmichalek@cmu.edu
James Miller Associate Research Professor Chemical Engineering jbmiller@andrew.cmu.edu
Granger Morgan Lord Chair Professor in Engineering; Professor and Department Head Engineering & Public Policy granger.morgan@andrew.cmu.edu
Granger Morgan Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering and Heinz College granger.morgan@andrew.cmu.edu
Tamal Mukherjee Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering tamal@ece.cmu.edu
Margaret Myers Associate Director Studio for Creative Inquiry mmbm@andrew.cmu.edu
Dave Nakles Professor of the Practice Civil & Environmental Engineering dnakles@andrew.cmu.edu
Illah Nourbakhsh Professor Robotics Institute illah@ri.cmu.edu
Irving Oppenheim Professional Engineer; Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering; Architecture
ijo@cmu.edu
Spyros Pandis Research Professor Chemical Engineering spyros@andrew.cmu.edu
Eric Paulos Cooper-Siegel Associate Professor
Human Computer Interaction Institute eric@paulos.net
Chris Pistorius Professor Materials Science & Engineering pistorius@cmu.edu
Yoosuf Picard Assistant Research Professor Materials Science  & Engineering ypicard@cmu.edu
Albert Presto Assistant Research Professor Mechanical Engineering/Center for Atmospheric Particle Studies albert.presto@gmail.com
Allen Robinson Professor Mechanical Engineering; Engineering & Public Policy
alr@andrew.cmu.edu
Anthony Rollett Professor Materials Science & Engineering rollett@andrew.cmu.edu
Edward Rubin Alumni Professor of Environmental Engineering and Science; Professor
Engineering & Public Policy; Mechanical Engineering
rubin@cmu.edu
Nick Sahinidis John E. Swearingen Professor of Chemical Engineering Chemical Engineering sahinidis@cmu.edu
Matthew Sanfilippo Executive Director of CenSCIR (Center for Sensed Critical Infrastructure Research)
Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES)
mattsanf@andrew.cmu.edu
Matthew Sanfilippo Co-Associate Director of PITA (Pennsylvania Infrastructure Technology Alliance) Institute for Complex Engineered Systems (ICES)
mattsanf@andrew.cmu.edu
Sridhar Seetharaman Posco Professor Materials Science & Engineering sridhars@andrew.cmu.edu
Sridhar Seetharaman Co-Director Center for Iron and Steelmaking Research sridhars@andrew.cmu.edu
Mitchell Small Professor and Associate Department Head for Graduate Affairs
Engineering & Public Policy
ms35@andrew.cmu.edu
Mitchell Small Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering ms35@andrew.cmu.edu
John Soluri Associate Professor History jsoluri@andrew.cmu.edu
Ryan Sullivan Assistant Professor Chemistry; Mechanical Engineering rsullivan@cmu.edu
Joel Tarr Richard S. Caliguiri University Professor of History & Policy; Professor History; Engineering & Public Policy; Heinz College jt03@andrew.cmu.edu
Chuck Thorpe Professor Robotics Institute (currently on leave)
chuck.thorpe@cs.cmu.edu
Robert Tilton Professor Chemical Engineering; Biomedical Engineering tilton@andrew.cmu.edu
Jeanne VanBriesen Professor Civil & Environmental Engineering
jeanne@cmu.edu
Jeanne VanBriesen Director Center for Water Quality in Urban Environmental Systems (Water QUEST)
jeanne@cmu.edu
Newell Washburn Assistant Professor Chemistry; Biomedical Engineering
washburn@andrew.cmu.edu
Jay Whitacre
Elia Development Professor Materials Science & Engineering; Engineering & Public Policy whitacre@andrew.cmu.edu