News and Achievements-Modern Languages - Carnegie Mellon University

News and Achievements

Congratulations to our recent recipients of research grants, professional recognition, teaching awards and other acheivements!

Research Grants

Haomin Zhang received the 2015 Jiede Empirical Research Grant from the Chinese Language Teachers Association. The grant supports empirical research in Chinese pedagogy and applied linguistics that contributes to building a sound understanding of the teaching and learning of Chinese as a Foreign Language.

Professor Yoshihiro Yasuhara has received a 2015 Falk grant to support his research project "Rethinking Jun Ishikawa and the Experimental Novels from the 1920's to the 1950's."

Feng Xiao is recipient of the 2014-15 Barbara F. Freed Award for Research on Language Learning in a Study Abroad Context to support his work on his dissertation project, “Proficiency, Learning Context and Pragmatic Development in L2 Chinese Study Abroad.”

Professor Kenya Dworkin has received a Metro21 grant to support work on the creation, implementation, analysis, and reporting of a survey instrument that would facilitate more accurate counting of the rapidly growing low-income Latino immigrant community in the area, and help assess existing and needed services for this community.

Professor Felipe Gómez has received a 2014-15 Berkman Faculty Development Grant to support his project "Towards a Comprehensive Analytic Panorama of Colombian Comics: 1960s to the Present."

Professor Sue-mei Wu has received a 2014-2015 Berkman Faculty Development Grant to support her research project "Weathering the Storm: Hand Puppet Theater and Taiwanese Opera amid Social Change in Taiwan."

Professor Stephen Brockmann has been given a Fulbright award to work on his project "The Struggle for Cultural Supremacy in the German Democratic Republic 1945-1965" in Leipzig, Germany during the fall semester of 2014.  He will be in Leipzig for the twenty-fifth anniversary of the revolution in East Germany, which began in Leipzig, and which ultimately led to the fall of the Berlin Wall and the reunification of Germany."

Professor Candace Skibba has received a 2013-14 Berkman Faculty Development Committee to support her research project, "The Spanish Body: Enigma, Abnormality and Change" and also a 2013-14 Falk grant to support her work on "Spain: Everything Under the Sun —Texbook Project for the 300 level Spanish Course."

Professor Gang Liu has received a 2013-14 Falk grant to support field work in China on his research on literati miscellanies or biji composed by Chinese loyalists after the fall of Southern Song dynasty (1127-1279).

Professor Yoshihiro Yasuhara has received a 2013-14 Falk grant to support his research project "The Changing Dynamics of the Zainichi in Traditional Japan."

Professional Recognition

María del Mar Rosa Rodríguez is the recipient of funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities to participate in the NEH Summer 2015 Institute "The Alhambra and Spain's Islamic Past" in Granada, Spain.

Professor Sue-mei Wu is the founder, president, and a board member of The Chinese Language Teachers Association of Western Pennsylvania (CLTA-WPA), which aims to provide a forum for exchanging information, expertise, and ideas related to teaching and learning Chinese. At the CLTA/ACTFL 2014 conference, Professor Wu was nationally recognized by winning an award for Innovative Excellence in the Teaching of Chinese as a Foreign Language.

MLRC Manager Marc Siskin has been elected president of NEALLT, the regional chapter of the International Association of Language Learning Technology for the 2014-16 term.

Professor Elisabeth Kaske has received a Taiwan Fellowship to conduct research at the Institute of Modern History of Academia Sinica during 2014 on her book project Deploying Symbolic Capital: The Economy of Office Selling in Late Qing China.

Professor Gabi Eichmanns has been elected president of the local chapter of the American Association of Teachers of German for the 2013-14 term.

Teaching Awards

Professor Yasufumi Iwasaki is the winner of the 2015 Elliot Dunlap Smith Award for Distinguished Teaching and Educational Service in the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Dan Walter is the 2015 recipient of the Graduate Student Teaching Award in the Dietrich College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Undergraduate Highlights

Three students of Professor Rémi Adam Van Compernolle have been selected to present their work at the 2013 conference of the Society of Linguistics Undergraduate Students (SLUGS) at the University of Toronto.

For the past four years, the China Scholarship Council has granted CMU students full scholarships to support their studying in China. Four of our students have been chosen as recipients of the scholarship to study in China for a semester or academic year. Here are the names of the four recipients of the Chinese Government Scholarship:

  • Brianan Hines, a primary major in Chinese Studies, who will study in China for a whole academic year
  • Estelle Tian, a primary major in Chinese Studies, who will study in China for a semester
  • Annsley Lucas, a Business major with a double major in Chinese Studies, who will study in China for a semester
  • Hannah Evans, A major in Hispanic Studies with a minor in Chinese, who will study in China for a semester

Three of the twenty students participating in the summer study program at the Shanghai International Studies University (SISU) have been awarded prizes that acknowledge their achievement during their time abroad.  Applicants are evaluated on their performance in the following four categories:

  1. Performance in study. This includes class attendance and participation, homework completion, and tests and exams.
  2. Participation in cultural activities, including participation in cultural tours, cultural activities (calligraphy class, paper-cutting class, etc.), cultural lectures and discussions
  3. Essay - reflections on study in China/Shanghai
  4. Plan for further study of the language and culture

This year’s recipients from CMU are:

  • Andrew Wu (first Prize)
  • Jerry Wu & Seijean Gahng (Second Prize)
  • Kelsey Choing & Zhulin Li (Third Prize)

Congratulations to our undergraduate majors and minors who were inducted during Spring 2013 into Phi Sigma Iota, international foreign language honor society.