2012-The McWilliams Center for Cosmology - Carnegie Mellon University

McWilliams Center for Cosmology Colloquia

Tuesday, December 11, 2012, Rafael Porto (Institute for Advanced Studies), "A tale of Symmetries:  From the Big Bang to Black Holes, 4:30 PM, A301D Doherty Hall, CMU

Tuesday, December 4, 2012, Daniel Green (Stanford University), "Connecting Primordial Physics and Cosmological Observations, 4:30 PM, A301D Doherty Hall, CMU

Thursday, November 29, 2012, Phill Marshall (University of Oxford), "Measuring Distance in the Universe with Gravitational Lenses," 4:30 PM, 4303 Gates Hillman Center , CMU

Tuesday, November 27, 2012, Jure Zupan (University of Cincinnatti), "The Dark Side of Higgs," 4:30 PM, A301D Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, November 13, 2012, Enrico Pajer (Princeton University), "Seeing the Big Bang:  the Imprints of the Very Early Universe," 4:30 PM, A301D Doherty Hall, CMU

Wednesday, February 29, 2012, Chris Hirata (California Institute of Technology), “Understanding the Cosmic Recombination Epoch," 4:30 PM, A301D Doherty Hall, CMU

Tuesday, February 28, 2012, Annika Peter (University of California, Irvine), "What the Heck is Dark Matter? One Astrophysicist's Perspective," 4:30 PM, A301D Doherty Hall, CMU

Astro Seminars

Friday, December 7, 2012, Rosalba Perna, "Gamma-Ray Bursts as Tools for Extragalactic Astrophysics and Cosmology," 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Thursday, December 6, 2012, Ludovic Van Waerbeke, "Gravitational lensing with CFHTLensS: results and lessons learned," 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Wednesday, December 5, 2012, Jordi Miralda-Esucde (University of Barcelona), "The origin of the cloud of gas falling to the Galactic Center", 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Wednesday, December 5, 2012, Oliver Zahn (Berkeley), "New Cosmology from the Microwave Background," 11:30 AM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, December 4, 2012, Yohan Dubois (Oxford), "AGN feedback in hydrodynamical numericqal simulations," 11:00 AM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, November 16, 2012, Richard Shaw (CITA), "21cm Intensity Mapping with Radio Interferometers," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, November 6, 2012, Michael Kuhlen, "Most Matter is Dark Matter, but that's not all that Matters," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, November 2, 2012, Brad Benson (University of Chicago), "SZ Cluster Surveys: From SPT-SZ to SPTpol to SPT-3G, 12:00 PM, " 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, October 23, 2012,  Dan Hooper, "Searching for dark matter in the discovery age," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, October 19, 2012, Peter Behroozi, “Galaxy Star Formation Efficiency from z=0 to z=8,” 12:00 PM, 7423 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, October 9, 2012, Christian Reichardt, "By Dawn's Early Light-- what we can learn from the cosmic microwave background about neutrinos and the early Universe," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, October 5, 2012, Kendrick Smith, "Constraining the physics of inflation," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall

Wednesday, September 26, 2012, Anastasia Fialkov, "First stars at z-20:dectable signature in neutral hydrogen due to relative velocity and Lyman-Werner feedback," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall

Friday, September 21, 2012, Kayvon Fatahalian, "From Simulation to Large-Scale Image Analysis: the Increasingly Similar Needs of Computations in Computer Graphics and Astronomy," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall

Tuesday, September 11, 2012, Vicent Desjacques (University of Geneva), "Modeling the Clustering of Biased Tracers," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, May 22, 2012, Surhud More (University of Chicago), "Galaxy-Dark Matter Connection: A Cosmological Perspective," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, May 18, 2012, Andrey Kravtsov (Chicago), "Title Forthcoming, ", 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, May 8, 2012, Prof U-Li Pen (Canandian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics), "21cm Cosmology, " 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, April 10, 2012, Karen Gibson (Case Western Reserve University), "Searching for the Dark Matter of the Universe in South Dakota," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, April 6, 2012, Andrew N. Youdin (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics),“Planet Formation in the age of *Kepler*: Pluto Returns to the Fold,” 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Thursday, March 29, 2012, Yurii Maravin (KSU), "Recent Results from a Search for Dark Matter Production in the CMS Experiment,"  4:30 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, March 27, 2012, Andrew Tolley (Case Western Reserve University), "Connections between Models of Massive Gravity," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, March 23, 2012, Alexander Konopelko (Pittsburg State University, KS), “Imaging the Universe in Very High-Energy Gamma Rays,” 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, March 9, 2012, Axel Brandenburg (NORDITA, Stockholm Observatory), “Solar Magnetic Activity as a Shallow Phenomenon,” 4:30 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Wednesday, March 7, 2012, Alexander Tevzadze (Tbilisi State University, Georgia), “Initial Stages of Planet Formation in Protoplanetary Disks: Origin of Vortices,”  12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, March 2, 2012, Philip Chang (University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee), “The Physics and Cosmology of TeV Blazars,”  12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Thursday, March 1, 2012, Mark Pitt (Virginia Tech), "At the Precision Frontier - Testing the Standard Model with Parity-Violating Electron Scattering," 4:30 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Thursday, February 23, 2012, Tobias Marriage (Johns Hopkins University), "Latest Results from the Atacama Cosmology Telescope," 2:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, February 17, 2012, Rachel Bean (Cornell University), "Testing Gravity on Cosmic Scales with Large Scale Structure," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, February 14, 2012, Kevin Bandura (McGill University), "21cm Cosmology with CHIME," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, February 7, 2012, Jeff Peterson (CMU), “An Experiment to Measure the 21-cm All-sky Spectrum from Redshift 6 to 30,” 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, February 3, 2012, Alexander Heger (University of Minnesota - Twin Cities), “Life and Death of the First Stars: The first cosmic explosions and how the Universe started to make heavy elements,” 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Tuesday, January 24, 2012, Tau Han (University of Pittsburgh and Pitt-PACC), "Missing Energy at the LHC: The Dark Matter Connection," 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Friday, January 20, 2012, Sarah Shandera (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics), “New Observational Handles on the Primordial Universe,” 12:00 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU

Astrostatistics Seminars

Thursday, April 26, 2012, Ed Turner (Princeton University), "A Bayesian Analysis of the Astrobiological Implications of the Rapid Emergence of Life on the Early Earth,"232M Baker Hall, CMU

Friday, March 23, 2012, Paul Freeman (CMU), General discussion on analyses of galaxy morphology, 1:30 PM, 232M Baker Hall, CMU

Friday, February 17, 2012, Nick Battaglia and Shirley Ho (CMU), "Using SDSS-III Quasars to Trace the Dust Content of Galaxy Clusters," 1:30 PM, 232M Baker Hall, CMU