2011-The McWilliams Center for Cosmology - Carnegie Mellon University

McWilliams Center for Cosmology Colloquia

Tuesday, November 8, 2011, Steven M. Kahn (Stanford University and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory), "The Large Synoptic Survey Telescope," 4:30 PM., CMU, Doherty Hall, A301D


Tuesday, October 11, 2011, Neta A. Bahcall (Princeton University), "Where is the Dark Matter?," 4:30 PM., CMU, Doherty Hall, Room A301D


Thursday, April 28, 2011, David Weinberg (Ohio State University), “Cosmological Highlights from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey,” 4:30 PM., CMU, Doherty Hall , Room A301D


Tuesday, April 12, 2011, Louis Strigari, Stanford University, "The Search for WIMP Dark Matter," 4:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall, Room A200


Monday, March 28, 2011, Abraham "Avi" Loeb, Harvard University, "The Cosmic Dawn and Reionization," 2:30 PM, 8220 Wean Hall, CMU


Wednesday, February 16, 2011, Tesla Jeltema, University of California, Lick Observatory, "Clusters of Galaxies: An All-Purpose Laboratory for Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics," 4:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall (DH), Room A301D


Monday, January 24, 2011, Neal Dalal, University of Toronto, "The Handwaver's Guide to Dark Matter Halos,"1:00 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall (DH), Room A301D


Thursday, January 20, 2011, Romeel Davé, Steward Observatory, University of Arizona, "Galaxy Formation in the Cosmic Ecosystem," 2:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall (DH), Room A301D


Thursday, January 13, 2011, Stefano Profumo, University of California, Santa Cruz, "Fundamental Physics from the Sky: Cosmic Rays, Gamma Rays and the Hunt for Dark Matter," 4:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hal (DH), Room A301D

Astro Seminars

Friday, December 2, 2011, Nishikanta Khandai (CMU), “The Formation of Galaxies Hosting z~6 Quasars,” 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Thursday, November 17, 2011, Shabab Joudaki (UC-Irvine), "Beyond the Standard Model of Cosmology: Dark Energy, Neutrinos, and Primordial Non-Gaussianity," 11:00 AM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Wednesday, November 16, 2011, Komatsu Eiichiro (University of Texas), "Cosmic Near Infrared Background," 2:30 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, November 11, 2011, Xiaoying Xu (University of Arizona), "A 2% Measurement of the BAO in SDSS DR7 using Reconstruction,"12:00 PM.,8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Monday, November 7, 2011, Hong Guo (Case Western Reserve University), "An Accurate Method to Correct for Fiber Collisions in Galaxy Clustering Statistics," 12:00PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, October 28, 2011, Michael Mortonson (Ohio State University), "How to Restrict, Reconstruct and Rule Out Dynamical Dark Energy," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, October 14, 2011, Colin DeGraf (CMU), "Early Black Holes in Cosmological Simulations: High-redshift Growth and Population Models," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, September 30, 2011, Nicholas Battaglia (CMU), "The Intracluster Medium, Scaling Relations, and the Thermal Sunyaev-Zel'dovich Power Spectrum," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Thursday, September 29, 2011, Shengjun Wu (USTC), "Signal Amplification via Weak Measurement," 4:30 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, September 16, 2011, Chris Purcell (University of Pittsburgh), "The Sagittarius Impact as an Architect of Spirality and Outer Rings in the Milky Way," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, April 29, 2011, Lam Hui (Columbia Astrophysics Laboratory), "Equivalence Principle and Cosmic Accerlation," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Wednesday, April 27, 2011, Jonathan C. Tan (University of Florida), "Massive Star Formation through the Universe," 12:30 PM, 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Tuesday, April 26, 2011, Alexie Lauthaud (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), "Using Galaxy-Galaxy Lensing to Constrain the Connection between Galaxies and Dark Matter," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, April 22, 2011, David Cinabro (Wayne State University), "Water in the Desert: Supernova Cosmology Results from the SDSS," 12:00 PM., 8325 Wean Hall, CMU


Friday, April 15, 2011, David Garrison (University of Houston-Clear Lake), "Utilizing a GRMHD to Determine the Gravitational Radiation from Primordial Turbulence," 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Monday, April 11, 2011, Matthew McQuinn (Berkeley), "The Reionization of Hell and Other Intergalactic Matters," 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Friday, April 1, 2011, Jeremy Tinker (NYU), "Cosmology from the Small-Scale Clustering of Galaxies," 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Friday, March 25, 2011, Tiziana Di Matteo (CMU), Astrophysics Talk, 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Friday, February 25, 2011, Gennady Y. Chitov, Laurentian University, "Quintessence-Generated Neutrino Mass and Accelerating Universe," 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Friday, February 11, 2011, Yu Feng, Carnegie Mellon University, "Tera-pixel Scale Visualization of the Massive-Black Simulation,"12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Friday, January 28, 2011, Nikolaos Fanidakis, Durham University, "Modeling Active Galaxis in Hierarchical Cosmologies," 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU


Friday, January 14, 2011, Colin DeGraf, Carnegie Mellon University, "Black Hole Halo Occupation Distributions," 12:00 PM, WEH 8325, CMU

Astrostatistics Seminars

Friday, December 2, 2011, Rafael Izbicki, Carnegie Mellon University, "Galaxy Morphology", 1:30 PM, Baker Hall 232Q, CMU


Friday, November 11, 2011, Anja Weyant, University of Pittsburgh, "Applying Approximate Bayesian Computation (ABC) Methodology to Type Ia SuperNova Data," 1:30 PM, Baker Hall 232Q, CMU


Friday, October 28, 2011, Brian Cherinka, University of Pittsburgh, "Automated Absorption-Line Finding in SDSS Spectra: Quantifying the False Positive Rate," 1:30 PM, Baker Hall 232Q, CMU


Friday, October 14, 2011, David Ruppert, David Chernoff, and Tom Loredo, Cornell University, "Guilt by Association: Finding Cosmic Ray Sources Using Hierarchical Bayesian Clustering," 10:15 AM, McConomy Auditorium, University Center, CMU