2010-The McWilliams Center for Cosmology - Carnegie Mellon University

McWilliams Center for Cosmology Colloquia

Monday, December 6, 2010, Shirley Ho, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory,"The Echo of Einstein's Greatest Blunder: Now and Beyond," 2:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall (DH), Room A301D

Thursday, November 18, 2010, Jonathan Pritchard, Harvard University, "Constraining the Dawn of Cosmic Structure and the Epoch of Reionization with the 21 cm Line,"4:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall (DH), Room A301D

Thursday, November 4, 2010, Adam Bolton, University of Utah, "Measuring Galaxy Masses from Galaxy Mirages," 4:30 PM, CMU, Doherty Hall (DH), Room A301D

Monday, October 25, 2010, William Wester, Fermi National Laboratory, "Shining Light Through a Wall: Laser-based Searches for New Physics with GammeV at Fermilab," 4:30 PM, Wean Hall 7500

Tuesday, October 12, 2010, Marc Kamionkowski, California Institute of Technology, "Is the Universe (Statistically) Isotropic?," 4:30 PM,  DH  A301D 

Wednesday, September 29, 2010, Dr. Renyue Cen, Princeton University, "Cosmological Reionization," 4:30 PM, Doherty Hall A301D

Tuesday, February 23, 2010, Judd Bowman, California Institue of Technology, "The Dawn of 21 cm Cosmology," 4:30 PM, Wean Hall 7316

Astro Seminars

Friday, November 12, 2010, Eli Visbal, Harvard-Smithsonian CfA, "A New Method to Observe Faint Galaxies: Cross Correlating Cumulative Flux from Multiple Emission Lines," 12:00 PM, WEH 8327, CMU

Friday, October 29, 2010, Dr. Viviana Acquaviva, Rutgers University, "What Can Galaxy Redshift Surveys Tell Us About Cosmic Acceleration?," 12:00 PM, WEH 8327, CMU

Tuesday, October 26, 2010, Dr. Lindsay King, IOA, Cambridge, "Weak Gravitational Lensing, "11:00 AM, Wean Hall 8327, CMU

Thursday, October 21, 2010, Professor Ravi Subrahmanyan, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India, "On growth and form: the shapes of radio sources," 2:00 PM., Wean Hall 8325-8327

Friday, October 15, 2010,  Dr. Michael Busha, Stanford University, "The Magellanic Clouds in Simulations and Real Life," 12:00PM, WEH 8327, CMU

Friday, October 8, 2010, Bhuvnesh Jain, University of Pennsylvania, "Gravitational Lensing and Cosmological Tests: Accessing Information in the Nonlinear Regime, " 2:30 PM., Wean Hall 8327, CMU

Friday, July 9, 2010, Daniel Whalen, CMU, "Finding the First Cosmic Explosions," 12:00 PM, McWilliams Conference Room, WEH, 8327 CMU

Tuesday, June 1, 2010, Bharat Ratra, Kansas State University, "Dark Energy: constant or time variable? (... and other open questions), " 4:00 PM, GHC 4303, CMU

Wednesday, May 19, 2010, Zheng Zheng, Yale, "Radiative Transfer Modeling of Lyman Alpha Emitters and New Effects in Galaxy Clustering," 3:30 PM, GHC 4303, CMU

Tuesday, May 11, 2010, Neal Dalal, CITA, University of Canada, "Probing Inflation with Galaxy Surveys, "2:00 PM, GHC 8102, CMU