Carnegie Mellon University

People (In Brief)

The Andrew Project: People (In Brief)

While a comprehensive and exhaustive list of all the people involved with the Andrew project would be next to impossible, the author has chosen a few whose innovation and hard work deserve special recognition. In addition, some of the people mentioned below contributed to the article.

Nathaniel S. Borenstein holds a Ph.D. in computer science from Carnegie Mellon University. He was a key designer of the AMS. Later he went on to Bellcore where he invented the MIME format, which was modeled after AMS and ATK capabilities. He currently works for IBM Corporation.

Lewis Branscomb was an executive at IBM during the formation of the ITC. He has since retired from IBM as chief scientist.

Richard M. Cyert was the sixth president of Carnegie Mellon University from 1972-1990. His administration saw the creation, implementation, and success of the Andrew project, "perhaps the most significant development in higher education in the twentieth century." Cyert served Carnegie Mellon for 50 years before his passing in 1998.

James Gosling was heavily involved with the development of Carnegie Mellon's original portable window system, which influenced MIT's X window system. X served as the basis for Base Editor 1, which eventually evolved into ATK. Gosling is considered the inventor of Java programming language.

Alex Hills is Distinguished Service Professor of Engineering & Public Policy and Electrical & Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon. He is the founding director of the Information Networking Institute and the founder of the Wireless Andrew project, which he led until 1999.

Douglas van Houweling was the vice provost of computing and was instrumental to the formation of the ITC. Assigned to find an industrial partner for Carnegie Mellon, van Houweling championed the university as the ideal showcase for paradigm-changing computing systems. He became the vice provost of computing and libraries at the University of Michigan and founded Internet2 as its first CEO.

John Howard, originally an IBM employee, became the third director of the ITC. He was also the first leader of the VICE group and made significant contributions to the development of AFS. Later, he pursued research and management at Mitsubishi Research and SUN Microsystems.

Peter Lee is professor of computer science at Carnegie Mellon. He was recently named head of the department. Lee serves on DARPA's Information and Science Technology board.

John Leong was manager of networking at Carnegie Mellon for many years, co-founded a start-up, and helped Carnegie Mellon install networking in Qatar. He helped find the necessary pieces to utilize IBM wiring in the early 1980s.

James H. Morris served as director of the Information Technology Center from 1983-1988. Morris is a professor of computer science and dean of the school of computer science at Carnegie Mellon West. Previously he was the founder of MAYA Design, Inc. and the dean of the School of Computer Science. He also writes for the Pittsburgh Quarterly.

Allen Newell chaired the Task Force for the Future of Computing whose 1982 report was the foundation for the ITC's formation. Newell earned a Ph.D. in industrial administration from Carnegie Institute of Technology (now College of Engineering) in 1957. He was a leader in the fields of artificial intelligence and cognitive science. As a testament to his dedication, the School of Computer Science began presenting the Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence following his death in 1992.

Mahadev Satyanarayanan or Satya, for short, was the principal architect of AFS. He is Carnegie Group Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon, where he earned his Ph.D. His work on the Coda file system, a descendent of AFS, opened the door to many advances in mobile and pervasive computing.

Keith Slack was an executive at IBM at the onset of the Andrew project. He became the General Manager of IBM Rochester (Minnesota).

Alfred Spector, the second director of the ITC, founded Transarc Corporation in 1989. He is Vice President of Strategy and Technology within IBM's Software Group.

Learn more about the Andrew Project with the following links:

The Andrew Project

History (An Overview)

History (The Details)

What is Andrew?

Andrew Today

--Douglas Phillips

Peter Lee, Jim Morris, and Mahadev Satyanarayanan, and the staff at Computing Services Help Center contributed to this article.