Carnegie Mellon University
Copyright Permissions

Copyright Permissions

The University Copy Centers provides administrative support by ordering copyright permissions for materials used in the classroom to help you and your department to comply with copyright law. Unless material expressly states that there is no fee for distribution or that the material is free to reuse, copyright permission must be obtained to reprint material distributed in a course.

The University Copy Centers partner with the Hunt Library and the Tepper School of Business to provide copyright permissions at a low cost to Carnegie Mellon University. 

Obtaining Copyright Permission

To ensure accurate processing of copyrights, please fill out the Copyright Request Form completely. Missing information will increase the time to complete requests. 

Please email the completed document to Patricia Herbster at pherbster@cmu.edu and Elizabeth Paez at edreier@andrew.cmu.edu. We will respond via email once the request is complete.

Deadline

Below are the deadlines to submit copyright requests for each semester. We attempt to accommodate late requests, but they may not have copyright approval for the start of the mini-semester. 

Mini Copyright Deadline Start Date
Mini 4 Spring 2017 Wednesday, February 08, 2017 Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Mini 5 Summer 2017 Monday, April 17, 2017 Monday, May 15, 2017
Mini 6 Summer 2017 Wednesday, June 07, 2017 Wednesday, July 05, 2017
Mini 1 Fall 2017 Monday, July 17, 2017 Monday, August 28, 2017
Mini 2 Fall 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017 Monday, October 23, 2017
Mini 3 Spring 2018 Tuesday, December 05, 2017 Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Mini 4 Spring 2018 Monday, February 05, 2018 Monday, March 19, 2018

For more information on copyrights, please Contact Us.