Closing a Project in TeamDynamix - Planning and Project Management Office - Carnegie Mellon University

Closing in TeamDynamix

Purpose

The purpose of the closing phase in the project management lifecycle is to confirm completion of project deliverables to the satisfaction of the project sponsor, and to communicate final project disposition and status to all participants and stakeholders.

There are two parts to closing a project in Computing Services. First you finish all of the project work, as explained in the Closing a Project page. Secondly, you close the project in TeamDynamix as explained below.


•    At what point is a project represented as 100% complete?
•    How does the project lead close financial transactions for the project?
•    What is the difference between a Closed Project and Deactivated project in TeamDynamix?
•    How does the project lead close a project in TeamDynamix?

At what point is a project represented as 100% complete in TeamDynamix?

A project is deemed "100% complete" after all work plan activities are complete and respective deliverables are approved and accepted to the satisfaction of the Project Sponsor and consistent with established success criteria. A project should not be represented as 100% complete in cases where there are outstanding or incomplete activities or deliverables (e.g. training, documentation, testing, etc.).

How does the project lead close financial transactions for the project?

When you are ready to close your project in TeamDynamix, please coordinate with your Business Administrator to ensure all financial transactions have been posted to your project. There may be circumstances where the project work has completed, but not all of the invoices have posted. In this situation, the project should be closed in TeamDynamix but remain Active until all of the invoices related to the project have been posted. This removes the project from the Monthly Open Project report but still allows for the transactions to be posted to the project. Once all entries have been posted, the project manager or portfolio administrator can deactivate the project in TeamDynamix.

What is the difference between a Closed Project and Deactivated project in TeamDynamix?

In the past, the terms Active and Open have frequently been used interchangeably.  These are two distinct fields in TeamDynamix, and are used to reflect different status based on the combination.  Please note the possible statuses below:

  • Open / Active:                  Project work and spending on the project are still in progress.
  • Closed / Active:                Project work has completed but financial entries remain outstanding (invoices or amortizations are still to be posted).
  • Open / Inactive:               Project work has been suspended but it is anticipated the work will resume.  No financial obligations are expected during this temporary respite.  (This status is not commonly used).
  • Closed / Inactive:             Work and financials are complete.

For a Completed project, the project lead is responsible to:

  1. Work with Resource Planning and Management (RP&M) to ensure all outstanding invoices have been posted to the project. If financial information remains to be posted, the project should stay Active.  Otherwise, the project lead should deactivate the project.
  2. Close the project in TeamDynamix, which removes it from the Open Projects list. When closing the project in TD, submit a final status, comment and percentage complete. (Required)


For a Cancelled or Suspended project, the project lead is responsible to:

  1. Update the status in TeamDynamix to explain the reasons that the project was cancelled or suspended.  This should be reflected in writing from the project sponsor, typically posted as a comment in the Feed. (Required)
  2. Deactivate the project in TeamDynamix. If it is anticipated the work will resume within a reasonable time, you may leave the project Open.  If it is unclear when the work will resume, close the project rather than just deactivating it.  If the work does start back up, the project can be re-opened and activated by the TeamDynamix administrator.  (Required)

How does the project lead close a project in TeamDynamix?

Final project closure and deactivation steps within TeamDynamix are described below.

 From the TeamDynamix Dashboard window, click on the ‘Apps’ Dropdown; select ‘Projects’ to display the ‘Projects’ module window. From the ‘Projects’ window, click on the ‘Administration’ link in the left-hand frame. Click on the desired project name link listed under the ‘Project Name’ column of the ‘Management’ window.

The ‘Project Details’ window opens in the ‘Project Details’ folder view. Click on the <Close Project> button.

The Project Details Close window displays.

  1. Contribute files to File Cabinet.  Be sure you have uploaded all files that pertain to this project, including the Project Closure report, Lessons Learned documents, and any reports or documents that were created as a part of the project.
  2. Close unfinished items.  If you are using the issues list or task manager (project plans) to manage your project, you should close these individual items before the overall project is closed. There should not be ANY open “Issues’ or ‘Tasks’ on projects that would normally be closed through the project management process. These check-boxes should be grayed-out and display as ‘(0 unfinished)’.  Otherwise, any open Issues or Tasks will need to be closed before the project can be completed and closed.
  3. Choose the closed project status
  • Active - Determine whether to set the project ‘Active’ or ‘Inactive’ in the ‘Active’ field.  You will need to keep the project in an ‘Active’ status if there are invoices remaining to be posted to the project.
  • Status - Select the appropriate completion status in the ‘Status’ drop-down selection list. Select Cancelled if the project was cancelled or suspended and provide an explanation in the comments field. The selection list for ‘Completed’ options are from the customer’s (project requestor, stakeholders, and project sponsor) viewpoint.  (This is a required field as indicated by the red asterisk *).
  •  PCT Complete - If the project was completed fully and successfully, the percentage complete should be 100%.  If it is not 100% upon closing the project, please explain why in the Comments (next field). (This is a required field as indicated by the red asterisk *).
  • Comments - Please enter your final status comments, any additional information to be recorded as future reference or information specific to the project. For example, note the project's success, and summarize the work done.  You may wish to congratulate team members and highlight their contributions to the success of the project.  (This is a required field as indicated by the red asterisk *).


NOTE: Users that have the Analysis module can still view a closed and inactive project by changing the radio buttons in the Standard Field section to select inactive projects, closed projects, or both.  Also, the manager of the project can view an open/inactive project in the Administration section by selecting the “Inactive" radio button.