Carnegie Mellon University Website Home Page
 

Delete Options

When you delete an e-mail message, Entourage places a line through it. These deleted messages stay in your Inbox or personal folder until you Purge them (Edit > Purge Deleted Items). To change this option (i.e., delete messages when exiting, move deleted messages to a Trash folder)

  1. Select Tools > Accounts.
  2. Double-click the CMU Cyrus Mail account.
  3. Select the Advanced tab.
  4. Under Delete options, choose the option that works for you.
  5. Click OK.
  6. Close the Accounts window.

Display Options

Disable the Preview Pane

The Preview pane lets you quickly view the contents of a message without opening the message in a separate window. If you do not like this feature disable it by choosing View > Preview Pane > None.

Turning off Grouped E-mail Messages

By default Entourage groups your email messages. To turn this off, choose View > Arrange by > Show in Groups. Repeat these steps for each folder.

Attachment Options

Entourage does not completely download messages with large attachments.

To change the message size option:

  1. Select Tools > Accounts.
  2. Double-click the CMU Cyrus Mail account.
  3. Select the Options tab.
  4. Uncheck Partially receive messages over.
  5. Click OK.
  6. Close the Accounts window.

Note: The above change will not apply to previously viewed messages. To download the entire attachment, click the Get entire message link in the Info Bar at the top of the message.

Send and Receive Schedule

By default, Entourage checks for new mail every 10 minutes. To change the send and receive mail schedule, choose Tools > Schedules. Double-click Send & Receive All and change 10 to the number of minutes you prefer.

Last Updated: 2/17/08