Disable Publishing and Indexing
By default, all items you create in the CMS will automatically be included in publishing jobs and indexing (i.e., added to the navigation). However, there are circumstances in which you may need to disable publishing and indexing for certain items.
There are a couple of reasons why you would want to disable publishing for certain items in the CMS.
- If you are keeping an item in the CMS for backup purposes and do not wish to make it available on the website, you will want to disable publishing for that item.
- Disabling publishing for certain items can significantly reduce the size of your site-wide publishing jobs and help prevent the publishing queue from backing up. For example, if you have folders dedicated to storing images or PDFs, these folders usually don't need to be republished every time you do a site-wide publish. Site-wide publishes are necessary to update navigation on pages not files, so by disabling the files from being published you are minimizing your publishing job to include only what's necessary.
To disable publishing of an item, select the item (e.g., an images folder) in the folder structure on the left. Click on the Edit tab and below the System sub-tab you'll find the setting for Publish. Uncheck the box for Include when publishing and click on the Submit button. The item will no longer be included in any publishes performed in the CMS.
If at a future time you try to publish something that has had publishing disabled, you will receive an error message as shown in the example below. Be sure to enable publishing again as necessary.
Disable Indexing (Preventing an Item from Appearing in the Navigation)
Your website's navigation is automatically generated based on the folders and pages you create in the CMS (referred to as "indexing" in the CMS). However, this may not be ideal if you do not want an item to appear in the navigation. A folder whose sole purpose is to store files (e.g., an images folder) will never need to be included in the website's navigation, so indexing should be disabled for that item. A page that you are keeping in the CMS for backup purposes should also be disabled from indexing.
To disable indexing for an item, select the item (e.g., an images folder) in the folder structure on the left. Click on the Edit tab and below the System sub-tab you'll find the setting for Index. Uncheck the box for Include when indexing and click on the Submit button. The item will no longer be included in the site navigation.