Lazarus Award-Celebration of Education - Carnegie Mellon University

The Barbara Lazarus Award for Graduate Student and Junior Faculty Mentoring

2016 Barbara Lazarus Award Recipient

Lynn WalkerLynn M. Walker

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Lynn M. Walker is a professor of chemical engineering in both the Departments of Chemistry (by courtesy) and Materials Science & Engineering (by courtesy) at Carnegie Mellon University. She holds a B.S. from the University of New Hampshire and a Ph.D. from the University of Delaware, both in chemical engineering.  She was an NSF International Postdoctoral Fellow at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven before joining Carnegie Mellon University in 1997. She spent 2007 as a visiting professor at the Polymer IRC at the University of Leeds. Her research focuses on quantifying the coupling between flow behavior and flow-induced microstructure in complex fluids.  Current research focuses in several directions; quantifying the influence of flow on self-assembled nanostructures, characterizing transport to complex fluid-fluid interfaces, and developing droplet-based devices for physicochemical characterization. She is the recipient of the DuPont Young Faculty Research Grant and an NSF CAREER award and is a fellow of the AIChE. She has been twice recognized for teaching with the Kun Li Award from the Department of Chemical Engineering at CMU and the 2015 AIChE WIC Mentoring Award. She currently serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Rheology and Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research. 


In an effort to sustain and celebrate her spirit and legacy, Carnegie Mellon created The Barbara Lazarus Award in 2004.  It recognizes exemplary contributions to fostering a welcoming and nurturing environment for graduate students and young faculty at the university.