James H. Garrett, Department Head-Civil and Environmental Engineering - Carnegie Mellon University

Abbreviated Professional History

James H. Garrett, Jr. is a professor and head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University.  He is also the Director of the Center for Sensed Critical Infrastructure Research (CenSCIR) in the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems at Carnegie Mellon. His research and teaching interests are oriented toward applications of sensors and sensor systems to civil infrastructure condition assessment; mobile hardware/software systems for field applications; representations and processing strategies to support the usage of engineering codes, standards, and specifications; and knowledge-based decision support systems.  Garrett received the following degrees in Civil Engineering from Carnegie Mellon: B.S. in 1982, M.S. in 1983, and Ph.D. in 1986.

Garrett was awarded the ASCE Computing in Civil Engineering Award in 2006 by the Technical Council on Computing and Information Technology. He also received the ASCE Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering Best Paper Award in 2001 for the paper he co-authored with Han Kiliccote, entitled "Standards Usage Language (SUL): An Abstraction Boundary between Design Systems and Standards Processors."He is a co-recipient of the 1993 ASCE Wellington Prize for his paper entitled "Knowledge-Based Design of Signalized Intersections," which he co-authored with Rahim Benekohal and Jeffrey Linkenheld.In 1992, Garrett was awarded the IABSE Prize for achievements in applying Expert Systems in Structural Engineering. He is also a co-recipient of the 1990 ASCE Moisseiff Award for his paper entitled "Knowledge-Based Standard-Independent Member Design", which he co-authored with Steven J. Fenves.   In 1994, he was also a Humboldt Stipendiat and spent 6 months at the University of Karlsruhe and the Technical University Munich.  He is also a 1989 National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Awardee and a recipient of the 1992 IABSE Prize from the International Association of Bridge and Structural Engineers.