Chris T. Hendrickson Elected to the National Academy of Engineering-Civil and Environmental Engineering - Carnegie Mellon University

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Chris T. Hendrickson Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Chris T. Hendrickson, Duquesne Light Company Professor of Engineering, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering for leadership and contributions in transportation and green design engineering.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Professor Hendrickson is the Co-Director of the Green Design Institute at Carnegie Mellon University, and Editor-in-Chief of the ASCE Journal of Transportation Engineering. His research, teaching and consulting are in the general area of engineering planning and management, including design for the environment, system performance, construction project management, finance and computer applications.

He has been the recipient of the 2009 Faculty Award of the Carnegie Mellon Alumni Association (2009), Turner Lecture Award of the American Society of Civil Engineers (2002), the Fenves Systems Research Award from the Institute of Complex Engineering Systems (2002), AT&T Industrial Ecology Fellowships (2000-2002), a Lucent/NSF Industrial Ecology Fellowship (1998), the ASCE Frank M. Masters Transportation Engineering Award (1994), the Outstanding Professor of the Year Award of the ASCE Pittsburgh Section (1990), the ASCE Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Award (1989), the Benjamin Richard Teare Teaching Award from the Carnegie Institute of Technology (1987) and a Rhodes Scholarship (1973). He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2007), a Distinguished Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers (2007) and an Emeritus Member of the Transportation Research Board (2004).

His education includes Bachelor and Master of Science degrees from Stanford University, a Master of Philosophy degree in economics from Oxford University, and a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.