The curriculum is determined by an advisory committee of faculty from each college, and covers the prerequisite skills students need to succeed in their other academic courses.  The course is comprised of four primary units.  A description of what’s included in each is below.    

Responsible Computing

As its name implies, this unit will provide you with an overview of the computing privileges and responsibilities that apply to the Carnegie Mellon community.  You will learn about the specific issues involved in protecting information and resources – not just your own, but the larger community’s as well.

Effective Computing

This unit of the course will introduce you to some of the most commonly used electronic tools and services that the university offers, and how to use them effectively to support your learning.

Safe Computing

The Safe Computing unit will teach you about online threats and malicious attempts to compromise information and resources, along with protective measures they can take.

Information Literacy

You will learn how to get good information in the Information Literacy unit. You’ll learn how to navigate the University Libraries website to find information, conduct effective searches and evaluate information.  This unit also addresses academic integrity issues related to plagiarism and citing sources. 

Learning Strategies

The course also includes a section on learning strategies where you will work on developing skills for independent learning and learn how to apply these metacognitive skills to their academic coursework.