2007 Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP) Schedule-Department of Biological Sciences - Carnegie Mellon University

Summer Undergraduate Research Program (SURP)
Schedule 2007

Date

Time

Event

Location

Week 1

     
Tuesday, May 29 8:30 AM Continental Breakfast and Photographs (All SURP) MI Social Room (328)
9:00 AM Welcome and Group Photograph MI Social Room (328)
9:15 AM Breakout Sessions  
   
Breakout Session (HHMI & Beckman)
MI Social Room (328)
   
Breakout Session (REU)
MI Conference Room (348)
   
Breakout Session (SRI)
MI 355
10:30 AM Biological and Laboratory Safety Training (All) MI Conference Room (348)
11:30 AM Student Pizza Lunch (All) MI Social Room (328)
  12:00 PM Payroll and Housing Information MI Social Room (328)
  12:30 PM HUB, Payroll Office & Tour of Mellon Institute  
  1:30 PM Meet with Faculty Mentor Faculty Labs
  3:00 PM Biology Laboratory Techniques Course * MI 333
Wednesday, May 30 9:00 AM Biology Laboratory Techniques Course MI 333
  12:00 PM Student and Faculty Luncheon MI Social (328) & Conference (348) Rooms
Thursday, May 31 9:00 AM Biology Laboratory Techniques Course MI 333
Friday, June 1 9:00 AM Biology Laboratory Techniques Course MI 333
12:00 PM Picnic Lunch Cathedral Lawn
  4:00 PM Chemical Safety Training MI Social Room (328)

Week 2

     
Monday, June 4 9:00 AM Biology Laboratory Techniques Course MI 333
Tuesday, June 5 9:00 AM Biology Laboratory Techniques Course MI 333
  12:00 PM Faculty Talk - Peter Berget
"Single-chain antibodies as biosensor platforms"
MI Conference Room (348)
Thursday, June 7 9:00 AM Student to Scientist Series (S2S)
"Scientific abstracts and chalk talks"
Emily Stark
MI 448
Friday, June 8 12:00 PM REU Group Meeting (lunch served) MI Board Room (434)
5:00 PM Preliminary Titles and Abstracts DUE
(HHMI Scholars, REU, Beckman)
emartin@andrew.cmu.edu
       

Week 3

     
Monday, June 11      
Tuesday, June 12 12:00 PM Faculty Talk - Justin Crowley
"Visual system development: what we know and what we'd like to learn"
MI Conference Room (348)
Wednesday, June 13 12:00 PM Go Research! Lunch Seminar
Emily Stark
"Applying to graduate school"
Rangos 1, University Center
Thursday, June 14 9:00 AM S2S
"Student talks"
MI 448
Friday, June 15      
       

Week 4

     
Monday, June 18 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM Go Research! 2007
Welcome Reception "Pittsburgh Picnic"
Rangos 1 & 2, University Center
Tuesday, June 19 12:00 PM Faculty Talk - Mark Macbeth
"Genome recoding by a finicky RNA editor"
MI Conference Room (348)
Wednesday, June 20 12:00 PM Go Research! Lunch Seminar
John Chinn
"Human subjects and regulatory compliance in research"
Rangos 1, University Center
Thursday, June 21 9:00 AM S2S
"Student talks"
MI 448
Friday, June 22 12:00 PM REU Group Meeting (lunch served) MI Board Room (434)
       

Week 5

     
Monday, June 25 12:00 PM *Special Day & Time*
Faculty Talk - - Amy Burkert
"From GREs to interviews: an overview of the graduate school application process"
MI Social Room (328)
Tuesday, June 26 12:00 PM Faculty Talk - Veronica Hinman
"Gene networks, development and evolution"
MI Conference Room (348)
Wednesday, June 27 12:00 PM Go Research! Lunch Seminar
Peter Madsen
"Ethics in research "
Rangos 1, University Center
Thursday, June 28 9:00 AM S2S - John Woolford
"Accessing and reading scientific literature efficiently and effectively, part 1"
MI 448
Friday, June 29      
       

Week 6

     
Monday, July 2      
Tuesday, July 3   Faculty Talk - Tina Lee
"Shaping ER membranes"
MI Social Room (328)
Wednesday, July 4 University Holiday  
Thursday, July 5      
Friday, July 6 9:00 AM S2S - John Woolford
"Accessing and reading scientific literature efficiently and effectively, part 2 "
*note change of date*
MI 448
       

Week 7

     
Monday, July 9      
Tuesday, July 10   Whitewater rafting Ohiopyle
Wednesday, July 11 12:00 PM Go Research! Lunch Seminar
Ron Placone
"How to present your research"
Connan Room, University Center
Thursday, July 12 9:00 AM S2S - John Woolford
"Molecular genetic basis of olfactory discrimination...how do we smell?"
MI 448
Friday, July 13 12:00 PM REU Group Meeting (lunch served) MI Board Room (434)
       

Week 8

     
Monday, July 16      
Tuesday, July 17      
Wednesday, July 18 12:00 PM Go Research! Lunch Seminar
Renee Starek
"How to use your undergraduate research experience to sell yourself to graduate schools and potential employers"
Connan Room, University Center
Thursday, July 19 9:00 AM S2S - Emily Stark
"Strategies and tactics: the statement of purpose for graduate school admission"
MI Conference Room (348)
Friday, July 20      
       

Week 9

     
Monday, July 23      
Tuesday, July 24 12:00 PM Faculty Talk - Russell Schwartz
"Computer models of macromolecular complex formation"
MI Conference Room (348)
Wednesday, July 25 12:00 PM Go Research! Lunch Seminar
Rangos 2, University Center
Thursday, July 26 9:00 AM S2S
"Giving a successful scientific presentation"
Brooke McCartney
MI 448)
Friday , July 27 12:00 PM REU Group Meeting (lunch served) MI Board Room (434)
  5:00 PM Final Titles and Abstracts DUE emartin@andrew.cmu.edu
       

Week 10

     
Tuesday, July 31      
Wednesday, Aug 1      
Thursday, Aug. 2 TBA Practice Talks TBA
Friday, Aug. 3 9:00 AM Final Symposium MI Conference Room (348)
12:00 PM Student and Faculty Lunch MI Social Room (328)
  1:00 PM Final Symposium MI Conference Room (348)
  4:00 PM End of 2007 SURP MI Social Room (328)

*Faculty mentors determine if advisees should take the laboratory course.